3:34 p.m. | 2001-09-11


I'm a little shaky but I'm still here and I'm okay. My roommates are both okay, one was taken from the World Trade Center area to NJ via boat. We have not heard from her in more than three hours.

Our phones went down immediately this morning and I only had outside contact via e-mail. My building was sealed off for security reasons and we were basically left in there with each other. Hoping and praying for loved ones, while our loved ones hoped and prayed for us.

I left after Noon today and began the 50 block trek home with thousands of other refugees from the attack.

The walk seemed a bit like the March on Washington in the 60's, but with shell shock.

Around the 59th Street bridge, the hundreds of thousands of people on foot completely took over the 6 or 7 laned avenue and we walked quickly, many of us silent. As I walked among people I've never seen, I felt the hair on my arms stand and I was chilled at the sight. Photographers from news agencies were in the middle of the street, capturing the moment as thousands of innocent victims crossed the only open bridge on foot, together.

I saw people reaching out to other people if they tripped or struggled with large bags. I saw three girls in their early twenties walking in front of me, arms linked, and covered in white soot that made them look like they had rolled in flour.

I heard three dark skinned men in a car singing "London Bridge is falling down..." and saw men on the sidewalks yelling at them as they laughed.

As I made my way up the Eastside of Manhattan, I saw medical personnel on every corner, directing people to blood banks and emergency services.

I saw lines of somber faced people, wrapping around block after block, around block after block after block to donate blood.

I saw people look up in fear, as I ran for a doorway, when at 2PM we saw another plane fly above us and the police yelled, "It's surveillence, please remain calm. Please keep walking."

I walked and I walked with the sun shining on this glorious day and as I got closer to my destination, I started to shake and have trouble breathing.

I thought about my friends in those buildings and prayed that they are safe somewhere. I walked for blocks with my hand over my heart, trying to keep it from getting stuck in my throat.

I am home now. Not everyone here can say that. Many people will never go home again.

Some of those people are my friends.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com