3:59 a.m. | 2001-09-15


I want to tell you about today, but I can't.

I am so TIRED. Do you understand? T-I-R-E-D and they tell me I have to save my energy, that this is just the beginning.

The beginning of what?

Listen, I saw a friend of mine in this community wrote something implying that the US government knew about the attack and ignored it to gain the support fo the country.

Let me tell you something. I lived in London and worked for the British government. I've been in bomb scares. Real scares, where they hid me in door frames and gave me a phone to call home and say good-bye to my family while they worked on detonating.

I've been there. And I know, firsthand, what it's like. I've felt the rush and you are convinced you will get out. We didn't run all crazy-like because it happens so often in the U.K, or it did, that you waited for the the bomb squad.

We have never had an attack on American soil. It doesn't make us stupid or lazy, it makes us unexperienced. WE. DON'T. FUCKING. KNOW.

We don't have to evacuate our underground every time some overtired business man leaves his briefcase. So get off our case.

Sorry if you are pissed off that we have people making a shitload of money off of the economy. Guess what, they worked for it. My friends families came over a hundred years ago from your country because they were broke and starving and worked their way into colleges and careers.

I'm sorry that other families never came over here and made "it" for their legacy's. But that doesn't mean that our people deserved to die for going into work on a Tuesday. That doesn't mean that they should take death as a punishment because they have never been on alert for a terrorist attack, which has never happened in the U.S.

My buddy liked rap, does that make him okay? He knew every fucking word to "Rapper's Delight" and he sang it with no back up at a wedding on June 30. He loved Black culture. He watched "The Brothers" like 6 times, which is probably more times than the number of people who saw it in the theater, and he shushed me everytime he watched it.

He loved Radiohead. And Pearl Jam and even thought we got into HUGE arguments about it, he loved Hoootie and the Blowfish. He did. Should he have died for that?

I'm sorry if you are so callous and removed that you think this is 50,000 guys in Thomas Pink and Burberry wiping their collective asses with money.

My friend is one of 5. His Father died when he was 21 he's headed the family since. His mother, three sisters and twin brother. He made a ton of coin in NYC, commuting from Phillie. And he has a wife.

So before you dismiss these guys, be aware that two other guys on my list are the same drill. Father dead. Supporting 9 - 4 siblings and mother.

I just want you to know, it's not cut and dry here. These aren't guys who were strutting in Gucci loafers, they were men who assumed responsibility early with no compliants. They wanted to be rockstars or movie stars, but they tossed their dreams to provide for families.

So fuck off, for implying we deserved it. Fuck. Off.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com