11:41 a.m. | 2001-10-03


There's an entry from late last night that you may or may not want to read. It's a tough one.

*~*

Last night I dreamed.

I dreamed that my brother and I were in an elevator in 3 WTC. The building was perfectly intact, all of the buildings were intact, and the Twin Towers just weren�t there.

Our friend�s husband was in the elevator with us and we were talking. I was nervous. I looked up and noticed there was no ceiling on the elevator car, instead, we looked straight up this 50-plus storied shaft. We were riding to the top from the lobby, and when I looked up, I saw another elevator car at the top, flying down toward ours, to crush us.

I started screaming and panicking, and my friend�s husband was totally calm. He pointed out there was blood on the bottom of the car above us and guessed that someone had already died. The space between our elevator and the freefalling one was shortening rapidly.

Suddenly both cars stopped, just feet from each other. The doors to our car opened to his floor and he straightened his suit and tie and said, �I knew it would work out. I�m getting off here.� So we said good-bye and see you later and the doors shut again, leaving my brother and I in the elevator.

Suddenly the freefall started again, but this time, the elevator doors were open and we could see each floor as we flew past. I heard my friend�s husband say, �Jump out at anytime, you have to get out any way you can,� and without thinking, my brother and I leaped out just before the two cars collided and landed laying on some carpeted floor in the 60�s.

We thought about sitting and catching out breath for a minute, but I said, let�s GO, we have to get out.

I searched for the steel stairwell that I knew was built as a stand alone, not part of the building structure. We flew down the stairs, which turned into escalators and we kept running down them, although, at one point, they started going the other direction, pushing us back up, and my brother I jumped over the side and starting running down the regular stairs. There were just a few people running with us.

We reached the concourse and something exploded in the building. I heard someone say that men with bombs strapped on their chests had entered every building in the Plaza area.

We ran through a main courtyard, where people were lunching casually in the midst of the Financial Center, the remaining WTC buildings, The Fed, Liberty Plaza, etc. We were running for our lives and these people were just casually lunching.

There was a guy there, playing acoustic guitar. He played Bob Dylan covers. I ran past him and screamed, �RUN! Get out! The buildings are falling!� He joined us.

As I ran past each building, I pointed at each one and told them to get out. �Financial Center � GET OUT! RUN!� but these hundreds of faces were all in the windows of the building and they were having a party on each floor. They stopped to look at me as I screamed, and then they all smiled and waved at me and laughingly gestured for me to keep running. I screamed at every building as we passed and at each one, all of these people were at the windows, smiling at me, refusing to leave, ignoring my warnings and waving me on.

As the building I had come out of fell, I didn�t even stop to wait or look for my friend�s husband, because I knew he was okay. He went to a different floor. He was never coming with us. And he told us, to go without him.

*~*

I think it�s ok now. I think I have my answer. He�s in a better place. He got off on a different floor. He told me to keep going.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com