11:24 p.m. | 2001-10-10


Tonight, at a large dinner party in the West Village, I renamed my diary character formerly known as MyfriendJen to 'Lil Dobe.

From this moment forward she will be known here as 'Lil Dobe. Make a note.

I gave the State of Fashion in America address tonight. It was a goodie. We were there with America's *premiere* television fashion authority. He's a friend of mine. He calls me Miss P. He thinks I am fabulous. I think he's right. We have so much in common.

During my address, I espoused on fashion as art. I detailed my vision of dressing as assuming a chosen persona for the day. He asked that I please never choose to be Diane Keaton. Boy, *really* dislikes Keaton.

I lamented on the possible exit of John Bartlett from the fashion world, which in my mind is the end of American Fashion as a Movement. John Bartlett has vision. He is fresh, innovative - more than a stylist with needle and thread, he transcends art onto fabric and produces fine quality goods. He is...in a word...Genius.

My favorites have exited the fashion world. Todd Oldham, whose fabrics alone embodied art. Isaac Mizrahi who brought back glamorous style with craftsmanship. My fashion friend disagreed on Isaac. Most do. But I stay true to Isaac. I adore him.

Anna Sui? I love her, but I must admit, she's just a glorified stylist; she's not couture.

So now what? I like what I see from Tuleh. Viktor and Rolf are stunning. But Americans buy Liz Claiborne knits. I understand that. I think those items serve a purpose. But the mass merchandising of national clothing chains breaks my heart. I've explained this before.

If you have the opportunity, have something made for you. Go to Wal-Mart or your local fabric store and buy fabrics. Sketch something. Rip pictures from magazines. Pay a seamstress in your area.

My mom makes clothes for me from sketches I've done. We've done this forever. People always stop me and ask me where I purchased this items and I tell them: My mom made it.

Style is about self-expression. Freedom. Vision. Personality.

Some days, I am lazy about it. I throw on something mass made; basics with no thought behind them. But I *try* to keep my presentation fresh. It makes me feel better about myself, like a new hair cut or a new lipstick.

In times like these, we all need to feel good. Shopping is great. Making clothes is maverick. It's fresh.

I'm going to take a sewing class and I'd like to get a sewing machine. This is a new goal for me.

It's not world peace or an end to the terror. It's fashion.

And frankly, I think the world would be a little better if that Osama freak would let me put him in a nice, breathable cotten - I'm thinking trim, flatfronts...possibly linen, to keep him cool...and a non-restricting linen shirt.

Now, if I could just get into his cave and work some magic with toile covered pillows and airy, draped fabrics...the world would be a much better place.

I think you know.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com