7:27 p.m. | 2002-04-15


I'm all over the place like it's nobody's business. I spend an extraordinary amount of time questioning people I know about the circumstances surrounding when they quit their jobs, packed up and moved home. "What was involved in picking up and moving?" "How did you know it was time to leave?" "What were your last months before the move like?" and finally, the quintessential "Are you happy?"

I spend most of my day thinking about what I want to do, where I want to do it and most importantly, what will make me happy. I evaluate what is going to be most difficult: starting a new career, finding a new career, moving to a place I've never lived before, staying here or leaving and having to deal with leaving behind my huge base of friends and contacts.

Life isn't that hard, but the choices are another story.

*~*

And now for the fun:

Friday was a low-key night. I haven't been going out much so it suited me just fine that my friends wanted to stay in, drink some wine and watch "Smokey and the Bandit."

Could there be any movie more genius than Smokey? I could stare at Burt Reynolds package for days. It's really amazing.

Saturday night was slightly ridiculous. We all got really, really, really, really drunk.

Toasttress and I walked into the bar. She announced she was going cocktail. I announced that I was also going cocktail and I was double-downing. She stepped up to the challenge. Later, there were shots involved. In fact, there were car bombs and SoCo shots involved.

I ended up playing pool in my friend F's basement until 5AM, accidentally dropping my beer bottle which shattered, and then in a display of WWF wonder, I attempted to *pretend* to break the pool cue over my knee, but misjudged the distance between the cue and my knee and I actually ended up breaking the cue in half over my knee. If you've never done this - I highly recommend it, it's very empowering. Best to use an old cue and do it in a friends house who doesn't care about breaking things.

After my amazing feat of strength, a drunken F. and I thought it best if we crawled in the crawlspace under the house to hide the evidence of the broken cue from his wife and while under there, we decided to retrieve a bike from storage, which I then rode home 5 blocks because frankly, I was too drunk and tired to walk.

I remember at the time, thinking that there were a number of comments from our idiotic pool conversation that would have made for a great journal entry. I can't remember any of them now, other than my friend F. telling me that I play "John Wayne pool" because I point and shoot real hard and fast. I really need to start carrying a tape recorder.

Oh, I also called The Vatican and Windsor Castle from the bar. Forgot to mention that. The bar provided the main numbers on their matchbooks. There was some yelling while I was calling, from the rest of the group telling me to leave the Pope alone while I was trying to explain that I like the Pope, he's my little friend! However, I couldn't get through, for some reason...

Sunday, Toasttress and I hit the main stretch in our resort town. We bought funny hats in the 5 and Dime, mine a lobster and hers a plastic Viking helmet, and we strolled the avenue in our wares. We went to the dollar store and I bought a hula hoop. You'd be surprised at how hard it is to hula now. I also bought a plastic flute. I don't think I'm cut out to be a flutist, but it is a great toy to use with neighborhood dogs.

One more thing. I bought a whoopee cushion. That provided about an hour's worth of entertainment for the group on Sunday afternoon.

All in all it was a good time.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com