8:40 p.m. | 2002-06-01


Some things change and others remain the same. On Thursday, I was walking down the street midtown and stepped onto an active grate next to a glass building under renovation. The force of the pressure below ground blew up to the point where I flet like I would be lifted into the air like a balloon, and my skirt flew up around me like that famous Marilyn shot.

As my hands shot down to fasten my skirt, which had already exposed me in my turquoise underwear, I tuned my head toward the building and saw a group of contruction workers lined up against the glass, hands in the air, cheering.

I laughed and hurried out of the area.

After that, I stopped into my local coffee shop for an iced coffee. I rarely drink coffee anymore, so I've only been in this place maybe once a month tops, but regardless, whenever I come in the young black woman behind the counter says in her West Indies accent, "Ohhhh Laa-deee, how you been, darlin'. You lookin' good girl!"

She came around from behind the counter to show me her new ring, becase she loves my rings, and to tell me that she's moving home to open a B&B on the islands. She saved 30K working in the coffee shop and is taking the money to open a B&B and start 3 women's retail stores.

We've never exchanged names or anything, but she insisted on writing down her new address and inviting me to visit.

I thanked her and wished her well. She told me that when I come "we will par-tee, girl. Oh yeah. And you will lie by the pool and I will have beautiful men in loin clothes fanning you all day, girl."

I laughed and said good-bye.

Friday, I was out for happy hour when a kid came into the bar selling duty-free cigarettes for 4 bucks. I bought a pack, as they are much cheaper than buying cigarettes in this town - cigarettes here are going up to $7.

As we exchanged money, the guy started asking me what we were doing that night and invited me to a theme party his friends were promoting at a small club in town. He said that I looked familiar and then asked me if I had ever been to X. Yes, I told him, I've been there. That's where I met you, he said. I smiled.

People always think they've met me before, and if they haven't, I get a lot of "I'm glad we met."

I never thought this was strange before Frogs pointed it out.

It hasn't happened a lot lately and I realized that's because I haven't been very open to this experience.

When I realized this, I felt relief that this blue period is finally passing and that I may be regaining some normalcy.

It feels like I'm coming home. I hadn't realized how much I missed this place.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com