7:48 p.m. | 2002-06-12


Today I spent some time speaking with my friend who lost her husband in the WTC, comparing our feelings right now about what life is like for each of us. To date I haven't volunteered any information to her about what I am working through, other than commenting that a day or week has been tough. Today I told her how it's different for me, aside from the defining fact that I didn't lose my husband, how being in Mahattan that day and being one of the first people to file the paperwork and search the hospitals has affected me. Following are excepts of an e-mail I sent to her after we spoke, replying to her e-mail saying it was great to catch up today:

Shortly after we spoke, I walked outside for a smoke and to think. I stood on the sidewalk across the street from my office building and watched the young professionals walk briskly pass me on their lunch hours. I heard band music in the air and turned my head eastward, to see a high school marching band moving steadfastly up the sidewalk toward me. A smile snuck up on my lips as I stared at a pack of young girls wearing those cheap polyester band uniform dresses in yellow and blue, led by two girls marching tall with silver batons deflecting hazy sunlight. They passed me in two-by-two fashion, trumpets and drummers working to balance their drums and the tall ornamental hats.

The band was followed by about 300 girls of all races and creeds wearing transparent white graduation robes and caps with yellow tassels. They wore dresses of the pastel variety, with a primary color sprinkled through the pack. There faces, so different in skin color and features, were identical with baby fat that had just started to fade to show the beginnings of cheek bones and interesting angles. Like cherubs, they were cheering, screaming, "2002!!!" and singing their school song, so I yelled out to one girl and asked her what grade they were graduating from. "Twelfth!" she screamed as her friend yelled to me, "I like your shoes!" and made me laugh.

It seems like a lifetime ago that I was 18 and graduating high school - I can hardly remember it - but seeing it today and the excitement on their faces was a reaffirming indication that there is still a reason to be excited about the future and what it will bring. It also seemed to be a gesture that life goes on, regardless of trying to slow it down or wanting it to stop. I think the trick is to stop thinking about jumping off the speeding ride and instead, adjusting our pace.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com