7:34 p.m. | 2002-06-17


The theme today is murder and attempted murder.

This weekend some lunatic shot some guy in the East Village and then stormed into a local bar with guns blazing. Patrons ran downstairs to the basement and some escaped via window with bars that they were able to bend to get through. The remaining patrons were doused with kerosene, as the lunatic ordered one injured girl to handcuff the remaining people with plastic cuffs while he fidgeted with a BBQ grill lighter. The highlight of the story is in its unlikely hero's or heroines, I should say, because two pretty girls (blonde too, I would like to note), covered in kerosene, jumped the guy as he fiddled with the lighter and were able to fight him down until the police came - even through he shot one of the girls in the leg.

Genius. Two girls. Now, THAT'S Girl Power.

I arrived home to a NYPD van circling my block with the Crimestoppers number lit up in neon lights on top of the truck. Through a PA system on the outside of the van, they ran an announcement that someone on my block was murdered last week and anyone with information should call the number in blinking lights.

It's like murder, Broadway-style. I bet they don't show *that* on NYPD Blue.

What next? Lathan Lane and Matthew Broderick re-enacting the crime for a limited run? I bet the scalpers would go nuts over that.

I should call Mel Brooks.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com