7:51 p.m. | 2002-07-01


I'm trying to get an entry up before I split for the holiday.

Fourth of July is my favorite holiday. In the entire spectrum of holidays, it's mine. People tend to be surprised about this, because I go all out for Halloween and I love Thanksgiving.

But really, I'm all about the fireworks.

It's one of my few childhood pleasures that never waned with age.

I'm antsy to change my life all at once and frustrated because it takes so long to do so.

I am waiting for a friend to review my resume before I send them out and begin interviewing. In the meantime, I'd really like to just quit my job, move my things out of NYC and relax for a few months but I'm not in the financial situation to do so.

That sucks.

I casually networked at the anniversary party this weekend. My godfather mentioned that he heard I wanted to move and asked if what kind of job I was going to look for. I mentioned that I am thinking of a career change. Getting out of the flack business, he asked sarcastically with a raised eyebrow. "Yep, I thought I would try my hand at producing some type of product and contribute to society like real people," I said. "Glad to hear you're thinking of giving back," he winked.

So have you started looking for a job, he asked? Not yet, I said. "I'm thinking of just quitting and moving." As he started to tell me that I should search for a job while I have one, I interrupted and said, "You know, I'm 29 years old and frankly, I need a break. If you can't quit your job at 29 and start over, when can you?" He looked at me for a moment and then he smiled and nodded.

He knows. They all know. It's their job as adults in my life to discourage me from doing this when I am in a secure position at a well paying job. I have 8 years experience and I'm at the top of my field.

I know this, they know this. What they don't know is how little that means to me.

I just don't care. It's all about the quality of life.

I have all these moneymaking ideas but my job is so demanding, I have no time or energy to begin them. It's like being trapped in still vortex.

It's annoying me and making me irritable. I try not to take it out on my friends, but really,it seems like everyone has it easy except for me.

Cigarettes go up to $7.50 in NYC tonight. I think there may be rioting. Frankly, I feel like rioting. Talk about passing legislation to punish people who are already down. I mean, status quo, anyone?

Look at the demographics of those who smoke. They should tax expensive cigars.

And then I see this anchor on CNN talking to an audience about their reaction. She listens to the dissenters and she's like, "good point, but you should quit."

What ever happened to balanced REPORTING? Save your personal opinion for op/ed please.

I mean, really.

I'm so sick of people's opinions. Ask me, I'm an opinion leader. My opinion is: working sucks so quit if you want to and cigarettes should be $2 a pack. They are an excellent tool for population control.

Next question, please.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com