8:07 p.m. | 2002-10-09


VALIDATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I want to run to the rooftop and scream that word!

I guess I should explain...

As little kids, my brother and I would watch a lot of gameshows. My brother LOVED gameshows. Namely, the Newlywed Game and The Price is Right. Being 6 years younger than him, I didn't have much say over what we watched in our 1 TV household, and so I watched them too.

I can't even remember how old we were at the time, but one of my brother's favorite sayings growing up was a blooper from The Newlywed Game. You know the one.

And whenever I would ask him for something, he'd reply, "ThadidbethebuttBob."

My brother claimed that on one episode the show, the host Bob Eubanks once asked the question, "Where's the weirdest place you and your husband made whoopee?" The wife replied, "That would be the butt, Bob."

For years this was a saying in my house. We'd walk by my mom cooking in the kitchen and goose her, and then we'd look at each other and say, "ThadidbethebuttBob," and then break up in hysterics.

Several years ago, I had the opportunity to work closely with Bob Eubanks and he was an absolute delight. To this day, I cite Bob as a celebrity who is an absolute delight to work with. He and I hit it off and on the last day of our work, he and I were sitting alone talking and I told him how that response was a catchphrase in my house.

Bob laughed and he said, "I have to tell you, that was a craaazzzeee rumor. It never happened." I said, "Impossible! My brother saw the piece on TV!" I proceeded to call my brother with Bob there and my brother confirmed that it happened. Bob laughed and said, "No way, that was never said on television." We were shocked. It was our thing, for years! We couldn't have made it up!

Tonight I was watched a special on VH-1 showing famous game show bloopers. And for the closing clip, there was my old friend Bob Eubanks, laughing a bit as he does, while explaining what was coming on next.

"Next up you're going to see the most talked about game show blooper around the world that never aired on TV. It happened in 1977 and is particularly embarrassing for me because for years, thousands of people have come up to me and asked me about it, and I have lied to them and told them it never happened. Here it is for the very first time..."

I am at this point, STANDING in front of my television, rapidly dialing and dialing my brother's number futily, because the idiot doesn't even have an ANSWERING MACHINE. Cheap bastard. And he wonders why he's single.

Anyway, there it was, in front of my eyes and maybe yours...

"ThadidbethebuttBob."

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com