10:04 p.m. | 2002-10-13


Saturday had all of the elements of a great college pub crawl.

Binge drinking (in this case, 5 Scorpion bowls among 8 people, I wish we had thought to time the consumption.)

New friends, in this case, about 10 members of the FDNY. I really wanted no part of this, as drunken fireman can be a bad combination and really, they are filthy talkers.

Making out with strangers, namely my cousins, who showed their gratitude toward New York's bravest as I shook my head and kept my distance.

What I like to call, "I love you, man" tears. I've only gotten them once, but frogs broke me down with talk about how great my best guy friend is and how he was telling her earlier, that I am his soulmate. Suddenly, in no small part to a mixture of many drinks and PMS, the tears were falling as I drunkenly realized how lucky I am to have such a great friend (who I take for granted) and how I hardly ever tell him that even though he tells me that all the time. While I was standing in the bar crying over the fact that I am a terrible friend, he came over and broke up the cryfest, telling frogs to stop making me cry and giving me a kiss on the cheek.

Drunken dials. One to said friend's mother and one to someone far away. Ok, two to someone far away.

Big plans. A. and I decided to buy a car together, he decided we are getting a Mini Cooper. I didn't argue.

A break up. A.'s GF stormed out of the bar after seeing my roommate close talking him with her arm around him. She's young, she doesn't know all of our history and how this is how we are, it means nothing more than friendship for any of us.

Late night at a diner. It all wrapped up with milkshakes and eggs.

And then on Sunday, I went to the gym and shaved a minute off of my pathetically slow mile. That last part I wouldn't have done in college.

Slowly, I am starting to feel like myself again, while at the same time, moving forward in life.

This weekend was really great.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com