9:48 p.m. | 2002-12-13


Partygirl 1, Computer 0

I won.

Tonight I took matters into my own hands. After surveying a number of IT experts, friends and family, I rooted through my initial computer package (thank GOD I didn't throw it out) and found the "Restore CD."

I placed it in the CD-Rom and prayed. Things started happening.

Yes, I had to wipe my hard drive and reinstall everything back onto my hard drive. This means wiping everything off of it in the process. Everything I had written. Gone. Some of the short stories, I had printed (thank GOD!), but the beginning of my book is gone. Vaya con dios book.

It wasn't a hard choice to make. It was like being trapped in a car with the option to cut off your arm to survive or bleed out while rats eat you alive.

After that, I had to reconfigure Road Runner, which took about 5 minutes on the phone with the VERY helpful people at Time Warner. I never thought I'd be thanking Time Warner, but clearly Hell must be freezing over.

And now I am back. If only my relationships were this easy. A spat, and then I reconfigure him and we are back on with a clean slate.

Mazeltov!

I am feeling rather empowered about the whole thing. I thought I was going to have to prostitute myself to some geek for help and here I did it on my own. Who knew?

I am totally stoked. There will be regular updates now.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com