3:20 a.m. | 2003-02-02


So Gingi made a confession and as much as it kills me not to, I am not ready to post the confessions of my dangerous mind here on this page for all to see.

I post absolutely nothing and everthing here.

Tonight I will tell you about Corn Mo. He is the greatest musical act currently on the scene and if you are making a list of things to do before you die, he should top it.

In the looks department, he melds the blondlocks of Greg Allman with the looks of a baby faced Meatloaf, in sound he blends the vocals of Meatloaf with the lyrics of Tenacious D.

In short, he is The Man.

Three songs into his four song set last night, he played a cover. Something he rambled on about being a cliched cover song, he apologized four times for playing it before he began, and then laid into "Freebird." Before he even reached lyrics, during the instrumental, I forgot about the room of too-cool-for-school-indie rock kids I was standing among, and pulled my lighter out and held it above the crowd, lit.

I stood alone, with my lighter lit, among all the 50-plus kids in their Urban Outfitters snug retro t's, with my lone lighter in the air. And I just didn't give a fuck. I held it up until my fingers burned and I knew it pissed off the guys behind me. I had a huge smile on my face.

I pulled my hand down when my fingers burned and a few seconds later, Corn Mow stopped playing, mid-song. He spoke to the audience and he said, "If you had your lighter in the air and you just pulled it down because your friends were telling you that's not cool - FUCK THEM. Put your lighter back in the air. Yeah!" And he resumedd the song.

I started laughing and the next thing I knew, 10 lighters were in the air.

I can't really break it down for you. The kid looks like a cherub with long blond locks and a voice that means business and he belts it out while he plays accordian. I feel confident saying you've seen nothing like it unless you've seen him. I am going to see him again in two weeks.

You heard it hear first, kinda like Tenacious D. This is it. Corn Mo. Check him.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com