8:40 p.m. | 2003-04-03


I've been busy. Work is senselessly manic, a balancing act of a number of projects and new business coming through the door.

I had my physical and left with a clean bill of health and an incredibly sore arm from innoculations and bloodwork. God only knows what is going to show up in that blood and urine work. Actually, God knows and I have an idea. My doctor is going to send me to Betty Ford when she gets those results. Let's hope she has a sense of humor.

This smoking ban has resulted in curbing my social life. It's just not fun to go to bar and drink if you can't smoke. So I haven't been going out. Much.

I'm working up to quit smoking. This Nazi environment makes it less enjoyable. I'm like a second class citizen. However, prior to this, I am going to participate in a "smoke-in" on May 1. I want to go out fighting this communist regime. How dare they limit my civil liberty to smoke?! My Dad pointed out that my lungs are probably equally damaged from running along the East River in the mornings during rush hour traffic and sucking in all that carbon monoxide, yet I don't see legislators taking cars away from the American public.

The only bright spot in my day was staring at that military issue photo of the female POW from West Virginia who was rescued. God only knows what how they abused that young woman but I love to read that she went down fighting, unloading all of her ammunition on Iraqi soldiers because she wasn't going to let them take her alive. She makes me even more proud of American military and especially the women soliders over there. That's modern day courage. That's bravery in the face of death. She's my hero.

Otherwise it's business as usual.

Getting used to seeing the Black Hawks patrol the harbor in front of my window at work and home. The sound of the choppers has become comforting background noise for me, just like the sirens and horns that sound all day and through the night.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com