5:25 a.m. | 2003-05-17


It's 5AM and a terrible thing has happened.

Moments ago, I was deep asleep and dreamt that I heard a serious car crash on the street below my bedroom window. I dreamt that my roommate and I looked outside, and we saw one car perpendicular to the street, with four people in it as it swayed precariously and may overturn. It was a convertible with the topdown, like a rollercoaster stopped in its tracks, and if it flipped, they would be decapitated.

The fireman were able to right the car and save those people.

When the car was righted, I saw that another car had been overturned underneath the convertible. A young man with light colored hair in a crisp pink buttom down shirt was lying half on the ground and half in his car, unconscious, as water flushed under and around him from the fire hydrant. I wondered why they didn't move quickly to remove him from the car and stabilize him. It suddenly registered to me that there was no rush because I was staring at a dead men and I moved away from my door, both to give the dead the respect they deserve and to protect myself from remembering his face in death.

I woke up to a small knock at my door. It was my roommate. "There's been a terrible accident outside. An SUV overturned. You have to be careful!" she said, although neither of us has a car.

I leaped out of bed. "I just dreamed it!" I said and she said that I probably heard the sirens in my sleep. "No, I dreamt that a car was overturned - a young father and his baby died..." I said as I put on a sweater and opened my blinds.

Eons of red flashing lights against the black sky hurt my eyes as we stepped out onto our balcony and took in the scene below. It looked like a movie set. Giant firetrucks, police vehicles and ambulances barricaded the streets around the vehicle; bystanders that neared 50 people stood in a circle around the overturned car. I made the sign of cross and said a silent prayer.

"Oh God," I said.

"There are people in there!" my roommate said on the verge of hysteria. "They are shining flashlights in at them. They are trying to get them out."

"I know, I've been there," I said. "And do you know what's the worse part of being in that car," I asked as I stepped into my apartment and turned away from the accident, "Being trapped in there and knowing that everyone is staring at you like a sideshow."

We both pulled the blinds then to give the victims some respect.

Crash! I just heard the workers right the car. Let's hope the ending is like the first car in my dream. I just heard a dog bark and it sounded like it came from the car. That's a good sign.

The ambulances and fire trucks are gone, and the car is empty. That's another good sign.

All that's left to do is pray for them, God knows I can't sleep now. I'm back in the emergency room, my body strapped down to stretcher from my shoulders to below my knees because I was hysterically fighting the rescue workers, scared out of my mind - remembering when it was me in my car, 12.5 years ago.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com