10:07 p.m. | 2003-04-08


In exactly 40 days, I will be 30 years old.

There are 40 days of Lent, leading up to the death by crucifixtion of Jesus.

Q Fever, an infectious disease among animals, has an incubation period of 10-40days. After that, they die.

Noah built his ark because it rained for 40 days and 40 nights. If you weren't on the ark, you were dead.

Islam believes in 40 days of purification before a man is worthy of receiving the Word of God and Muhammed had his first vision from Allah, at the age of 40.

40 was the number of days that Elijah spent in the wilderness before God appeared to him in a cave on Mount Horeb.

40 was the number of days that Jesus was tempted in the desert by Satan.

40 was the number of days Buddha sat under the bodhi tree before attaining Enlightenment.

Top 40 Radio Stations in corporate America playing manufactured corporate rock make me want to die.

The number 40 has a bigger significance in the grand scheme of life and here I sit, poised for 30, only 40 days away.

As I explained this theory to friends earlier, it's not that I literally think I am going die in 40 days, but I think that who I've been up until now -that person - is slowly dying and who I am after my birthday, is who I am going to be for the rest of my life.

If that's the case, I have a whole lot of work to do before 30.

I am freaking out.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com