16:43:55 | 2000-09-26


If I fall along the way/pick me up and dust me off/and if I get too tired to make it/be my breath so I can walk

If I need some other love/give me more than I can stand/and when my smile gets old and faded/wait around I'll smile again...

can you help me I'm bent/I'm so scared that I'll never/get put back together/you're breaking me in/and this is how we will end/with you and me bent...

I started out clean but I'm jaded/just phoning it in/just breaking the skin

start bending me/It's never enough/I feel all your pieces/start bending me/Keep bending me until I'm completely broken in

-Matchbox Twenty

*~*

Yes, I did just quote Matchbox Twenty. Try to carry on.

I quoted that song because it�s sure as hell fitting for everyone I know, myself included.

*~*

Here�s the part of this entry where I tell you, readers, to get your act together (if you don�t have it together). And here�s the part where I tell my friends to get their act together too.

I�ve had just about all I am going to take and then some. I�m more than a little tired with everyone around me acting like they are in junior high. Grow up. We are all closer to 30 than 20 so pull it together. If I have to listen to another excuse or bad behavior or another sob story�.wah, wah, wah�I�m going to ditch all of these people and hightail it the fuck out of here. If I have see another person shift blame or point a finger at someone else, I am going to break that fucking finger. And I�m not kidding here people.

You know when you knew your parents weren�t kidding when they told you to quit it? Well, that�s what I�m talking about. So everyone quit it.

*~*

So, do you think you need another kick in the ass to start acting like a human being and not a whining child? Great. Read this story and then tell me how bad YOU have it.

My father and I, as you may know, love to talk politics. Something recently caught his eye and he mentioned it to me when we were speaking about how both political parties are moving so close to the middle now, there�s no differentiation. In particular, welfare laws have been so drastically revised that it�s even harder now for some families to get themselves back on their feet.

And maybe all of you MTV watchers out there will remember the episode of 1515 when ODB of Wu-Tang Clan took the crew along while he � A PLATINUM SELLING ARTIST � went to a Check Cashing place (not even a bank) and cashed his welfare check while smoking bunts. He's a fucking a waste of space.

And MTV, they should sleep well having publicized this fraud in that �ghetto fabulous� light.

Well let me tell you a little about some the less �fabulous� and more �ghetto� people out there who have relied on welfare.

The new welfare laws have limited the number of years you can spend on welfare. Regardless of your situation.

So there�s a woman in my town, who was being beaten by her good for nothing, piece of shit husband. And to keep her captive to him, he would rape her at night, while he was drunk, and knock her up.

This happened enough to produce three children. She eventually got away from him and got her family into public housing, but now she had to go on welfare because this pond scum drank whatever paycheck he had away, therefore contributing no child support.

She went on welfare, because she couldn�t afford the daycare necessary to care for two small children and one 11-year-old. When the oldest turned 13, she voluntarily went off of welfare and went out looking for a job. She was employed at a fast food place, but the pay was less than the family�s welfare check and so she had to find another job.

This woman, worked two shifts just to keep family together and off welfare.

Two shifts to protect her children from being beaten by an alcoholic father.

Two shifts to keep their tummies from grumbling.

Two shifts to give them shoes and clothes so they could go to school and get and education so they would never have to be on welfare again.

Two shifts so they would end up better off than their Mom.

Two shifts because she loved them unconditionally, as only a mother could.

And do want to know what happened?

The 13-year-old became overwhelmed caring for the two small children. He couldn�t handle two babies and he didn�t know what to do and you know what? He was probably just plain TIRED, so he did what he thought was right and he called social services.

And do you know what they did? Offer daycare services, you might ask? Work out so type of plan to subsidize the mom so she wouldn�t have to work all night AFTER working all day?

Nope, they took the 3 kids, split them up and put them in foster homes and left a note for the mother.

A fucking note????? They left her a fucking note. What did it say???

*******

Dear Madame,

We�ve just broken up your family.

Sincerely,

Social Services

********

And that, is what you are voting for when you tighten welfare laws and vote Republican. You vote to break up families and you vote to take music and art supplies away from the children who need them the most.

You take away their fighting chance, and you leave them simply, fighting.

And I just can�t support that. Because as an adult who�s no longer making excuses or whining or pointing fingers, I�ve had enough.

And now I am going to help.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com