15:13:26 | 2000-10-16


I was just in that Diaryland chat area and had a disturbing conversation. First, I go in there and the discussion is about bodily fluids. And it's only two people conversing, but there are like 6 people logged on to chat. What's up with that?

THEN, someone had the gall to call me "responsible." I believe the exact comment was "Partygirl's all responsible."

Punk.

*~*

A few comments I heard this weekend that cracked me up:

My brother, my friend L. and I are heading out on Friday night. L. says she hid her roommate's emergency cigarette. I said, "I don't even keep an emergency cigarette." My brother said, "I don't even bother with an emergency cigarette. The emergency cigarette is what I smoke on my way to buy my next pack."

*~*

My friend T. and I are out at a bar talking about how impossible it was to manuever around town last week because of the Middle East protests at the UN last week. My friend T. is like "What do those people DO?"

She's like, "I walk down the down the street and I see a bunch of Israeli's throw a Palestinian through a window and then jump out and start kicking him, and I think to myself, OK - guy on the ground is getting attacked so maybe this wasn't planned, but you, you and you, kicking the guy on the ground, what did you tell your workplace?" "Don't these people have jobs? And what job is allowing these people to leave work to protest? Are they offering flex hours for protests? Is there a timesheet code (001-Protest) that they people are billing back to their company? Instead of 401K's, do these people contribute to a jail fund? I mean how are these people supporting themselves and protesting every other week and beating the shit of people on TV?"

My response to T., "All I'm saying is, that shit wouldn't fly at my job. Could you imagine, 'Excuse me XXX, I won't be in this morning because I'm going to protest_____, but I may be calling you to bail me out of jail later. OK, great, see ya."

*~*

Before going on out on Friday night I'm watching Paula Abdul introducing videos on VH-1. I come home Saturday morning. Paula Abdul is still introducing videos. Isn't she tired yet, because I'm exhausted just watching her.

*~*

This weekend, I take my brother by some of favorite boutiques and thrift stores, we are building his wardrobe. We find some really GREAT items. Which starts me thinking about Marnie2000's comment about me being the anti-khaki.

I do hate all that khaki stands for. So I was overtired and started to think about it. Am I a fashion snob? Why do I hate the Gap and Banana Republic more than satan?

It comes down to this - yes, I love fashion. But more than that, I love personal style. It excites me to see a person who is visually stimulating. Not someone beautiful, no. I could give a shit what you look like. When I see a person, they speak to me, whether or not they open their mouth, they speak to me with what they wear. Complex fabrics and textures or simple designs mixed with colors or beading or unusual accents, these are the things that speak to me.

I feel, with mass manufactured clothing like you find at the Gap or Banana Republic, that these corporations are dumming down the characters of world. Offering staid uniforms that people are buying. They tell people what's in fashion and without thinking for themselves or creating their own vibe, they accept this dictated fashion.

I also think that clothing can be a gift. It can tranform a person into whatever he or she wants to be. When I get dressed in the morning, after I ask myself what I should wear today, then I ask myself, "Who do I want to be today?" It's like getting into character.

So I admit, I am the anti-khaki, but it's not because I am a snob. I guess it's a form of escapism.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com