2:38 p.m. | 2001-12-04


What to write, what to write.

As much as I hate to admit it (because admission is the first step to recovery, but I don�t need to recover if I don�t acknowledge I have it), I�m sick. I caught a cold and it sucks.

I never get sick. And when I do, I ignore it. I�m ignoring it now, in between sneezes. The worst part of the common cold, is the strange removed feeling you get in your head. It�s kinda cool, that feeling of being here, but not being here. Like when you descend into the Grand Canyon and get lightheaded.

I�m a big fan of getting lightheaded. Remember nitrus? Balloons. Shows. Parking Lots. Hippie Crack. Good Shit. One time, my friend M. and I went to her boyfriend�s apartment and someone had just given him a tank of nitrus, just one of those baby tanks. We got there I guess around 9PM. We smoked and then she spotted that tank. Next thing I knew we were scrambling around the apartment for a balloon. We found one ratty balloon. And we hit it.

Just the two of us sitting there with the shriek of laughing gas filling a balloon. I�d do a balloon and then pass. She�d do a balloon and then pass. We had no concept of time. At one point, we slid out a drawer on his table and found an eight ball. We hit that between balloons.

When I finally regained control of my senses, I realized that we had been sitting in this apartment in total silence, no TV or music on, all night. We hadn�t spoken the entire time. It was now 1:30AM. We�d hit the hippie crack for about 4 � hours.

I told M. I had better go. I hope we didn�t hit that whole thing, I said. �Please,� she said. �It was take more than you and I to cash that thing.� �Truly,� I agreed.

A couple of days later, M. told me that he BF came home and lifted the tank, and asked, who hit this with her? She said it was just her and me. �Jesus Christ! What the hell were you two idiots doing, just hitting balloon after balloon for hours? This thing is nearly cashed!�

Those were the days.

Last night Gingi treated my young cousin and I to dinner before her date. My cousin is 22 and I have adopted her in my new project, �Welcome The Next Generation to NYC.� She�s the trial candidate. Anyway, she�s great and it�s nostalgic to be doing this. Bringing a newbie into the fold. Showing this ridiculous Partygirl lifestyle. Seeing New York again, through new eyes.

New York City is exciting. Just when I think I�m jaded and have done it all, I go to a new dive bar rich with history. I am awed by walking down another hidden alley that someone with amazing talent walked down years before me. I remember that we have the most amazing museums in the world. I discover yet another bizarre performer or a catch a cabaret that just happens to have 5 of Broadway�s greatest talents singing around a beat-up piano for fun.

I just don�t know where to go after this. Luckily, I have a cold so I really can�t go anywhere right now.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com