9:20 p.m. | 2001-11-07


Do you want to know something weird?

Have you seen the famous photo from 9-11 in which several firefighters carry the deceased chaplain Mychal Judge from the WTC just after the buildings fell?

The man dressed as a civilan in a blue button down in the front of the photo, holding up the front right leg of the chair which carries the chaplain, is the same man, who stood in front of me just hours later here, as I silently wept in the NYU Medical Center auditorium with 15 or so other people also searching.

I must have seen this photo of him at least 10 times since that day, everywhere from Time Magazine to the NYT. It was not until tonight, when I was reading the 9-11 issue of Rolling Stone and looked at the photo again that I realized it was the same man.

He must have worked all day on-site the day before, and then been called from Ground Zero to start on the paperwork for the missing people.

He must have been there when the buildings fell, helped to carry that chaplain who was killed with debris while administering last rights on-site, showered and changed and then faced us, the survivors. The friends and family.

He watched me cry as this girl collapsed.

I remember him being so patient as we demanded answers and new lists of patients that we hoped to God had been found and treated. People we hoped were alive. He was so gentle and kind to us.

And now I see what he went through before dealing with us. My GOD. What kind of superhuman man is he???

How is that man coping?

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com