11:10 p.m. | 2001-09-26


I've got something to say:

I'm not afraid to fly. How 'bout them apples?

I want to fly. I'm not going to be a scaredy cat. Fuck that.

It's been 14 days. I'm 28 and I feel like I'm 70. This ridiculous. This hiding from planes and fleeing my office because a bunch of deranged lunatics call in a bomb threat. F- Them.

I will not allow my life to be altered to the lunatic state that these people wish me to conform.

And you know what else? I'm going to start going out. A lot. And I'm overtipping Pakistinian taxi drivers. AND I TELL THEM TO HAVE A GREAT DAY when I exit their taxi.

I'm going to start saying hello to everyone on my block again, in the mornings, when I walk to the bus. Just like I used to.

I am going to say good-bye to the six people that I hung out with this past year and years before that who are gone. I am going to let them go, although I will remember them forever. Their memories will be honored forever.

But soon there will be whole albums out that they've never heard and TV shows and films they will never see and I am going to accept that.

I will meet new people who never knew those six people and that will be okay. There will be others who did know them, and they will remember them too, with me. But they will move forward also.

I will never hear Hootie and the Blowfish and not remember my friend. I will have that, even though I hate Hootie. I feel my friend somehow finally screwed me with the Hootie and he's laughing about it. He won the Hootie battle. He can have that.

Fourteen days, in this case, is both the longest period I've experienced in my life and the shortest. How has it only been fourteen days but it feels like 4 years? I feel old.

I shouldn't feel old. I'm 28. So I say screw this. Screw people who give up their lives for religion and God and Third World ways.

That's not God. God doesn't tell you to kill yourself and countless others. That's some bad fucking information, buddy. And while you're at it, don't drink the kool-aid they give you. Freakshow. If someone told you to jump off the Brooklyn Bridge, would you? Of course you would, because you are an ignorant sheep.

Have you ever looked at a Jackson Pollack and seen it? Have you seen something that no one else saw? No. You see what they tell you it is.

Look. See. Think. Act.

Don't follow orders. Formulate an opinion.

Stop fighting. Live. Love your wives. Nuture your children. Meet your grandchildren. Labor.

Do what my friends would have done, if they hadn't been taken away at ages, 28, 28, 28, 34, 34 and 38.

We can be aware and live guarded and still love life and enjoy it.

But most importantly, I can fly. And I will, soon.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com