11:54 p.m. | 2003-04-09


I finally felt some peace today. I had a follow up appt. with my doctor today regarding my physical.

Blood Pressure, normal. EKG, normal. Thyroid, normal. Cholesterol, good.

Liver count? High.

"Were you drinking more than normal last week?" my doctor asked me.

"What do you consider normal?" I replied.

"Let me rephrase that," she asked. "Have you been drinking less this week than last," she asked.

"Well, do you consider the week Sunday through today?" I asked.

"Yes," she replied.

"Then the answer is Yes! I have been drinking less!" I answered triumphantly.

So they drew some more blood and sent me on my way.

The only disturbing thing to happen at the doctor was when she moved to leave, and turned to me and said, "well, that's it, unless there's something else you'd like to tell me?"

We faced each other for a moment, in some type of doctor-patient stand off, and I said, "nope."

*~*

Tonight, I saw my first opera, thanks to a kind blogger. It was magnificent. I wanted to take notes throughout but couldn't muster the courage to be so gouche.

There was a line about men, and how we make them all Gods. "When a new God comes along, we are all dumbstruck." And isn't that the truth?

Unless you believe, like Ariadne, that one will come along who actually is a God and who will elevate you to play with him equally, on a level playing field.

Maybe there is a God? And if not, there's always Strauss to taunt you into believing.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com