23:14:00 | 2001-02-27


Let me tell you something. I am a pretty easy going person. I have never had a problem living with someone. I'm a long-term roommate kinda girl. I'm overwhelming at first, but I grow on them.

I don't pick fights. I avoid confrontation. I apologize for everything, even if it's not my fault. If you bumped into me in a bar, I would apologize. Effusively.

It takes a lot to get me angry. I mean, I get annoyed with people, sure. But really angry? I am rarely really angry. I just don't have a lot of anger in me. I believe that life is too short to spend angry. It's not a productive use of my time.

Let's put it this way. You have to really piss me off for me to be truly angry with you. But if you do, you will be on the receiving end of a wrath that you couldn't think up in your wildest, drug induced hallucinations.

And I am that angry right now.

*~*

My day has...sucked. To state it mildly. Things just did not go the way I wanted them to, and frankly, this not how my world works.

Little things kept going wrong, but I glided over them. I led the crew to safety. I thought of alternatives when problems arose and I pointed out the bright side of the coin. I remained calm.

But the calm is gone, and a storm exploded my office like a seagull grazing on a buffet of alka seltzer.

In hindsight, you would have thought the other instances would have sent me over the edge and not the relatively minor situation that sent me reeling into a screaming rage at my desk.

But isn't it always that way?

Today, I was blocked access from my napster account. Seriously, check it out.

This really angers me.

More than you would think, really.

One of the things that pisses me off is that I was shut down by Jeff Buckley.

Okay, to clarify, Jeff Buckley is dead. So, either Jeff Buckley is a mastermind of the afterlife, gripping his angry, soulful hand into my computer and seizing my connection to his music or there is some greedy-non-talent motherfucker controlling the rights to his estate and making sure they inherit every half-penny they can off of his posthumous fame.

Undoubtably, this is the same money-hungry jackass who will sell one of Buckley's most venerable songs to some marketing-savvy computer manufacturer next year for a :30 spot wedged somewhere in between mindless must-see TV programs, or worse, some faux reality TV show featuring aspiring actors seeking their 15 minutes of fame by completing a series of completely staged and utterly moronic dares.

This person is probably posting Jeff Buckley's gum wrappers on E-Bay right now, and perhaps some of you have a friend who has already bid on that fingerprint laden piece of tinfoil?

What is this world coming too?

So Buckley is dead. And whatever is left of his family wants his money. That's their right. But the other thing that boils my blood is that I bought Grace after downloading the MP3's. I don't like to bring my CD's to and from work, so I saved the MP3. So they got my money and they are still fucking me.

Yes, this really pisses me off.

And I think you know who I blame for this. That's right.

Lars.

Lars needs to expunged. Since I don't believe in violence, I really just want his career ruined.

I also would like to see him in tremendous physical pain at the hand of God. Like, perhaps, passing a kidney stone.

Four times.

Every day.

For the rest of his natural life.

I don't want him to die, because then he would become a hero. And I would be forced to watch an insufferable number of "Behind the Music" and "E! True Hollywood Story" programs about him.

I would prefer for him to continue thinking he rocks, and then invest all his money in a huge stadium tour and then sell no tickets and not recover any losses.

Yes, a poverty stricken, fameless Lars is exactly what I want.

I want that sniveling, short, over-the-hill, greedy, piece of shit, mother-f***ing, merchandise hungry, commercial sell-out, producing-music-only-for-the-bottom-line-I-don't-care-about -fans-or-the-beauty-behind-sharing-music-beyond-national-lines -and-overcoming-language-barriers-to-connect-with-music-lovers -who-have-found-an-interpersonal-interconnectedness-on-a -higher-plane-of-sound-cumsucker to fade into forgotten star oblivion.

Oh yes, I do.

I'm sorry, I can't hear you Lars. I'm too busy agreeing with Dave Grohl as he says about Napster:

"I think it's a good idea because it's people trading music. It has nothing to do with industry or finance, it's just people that want music and there's thing wrong with that. It's the same as someone turning on the fucking radio, it's the same as someone putting a cassette in a cassette deck when the BBC plays a special radio session. I don't think it's a crime, it's been going on for years. It's the same as people making tapes for each other. The industry is more threatened by it because it's the worldwide web and it's a broader scope of trading, but I don't think it's such a fucking horrible thing. The first thing we should do is get all the fucking millionaires to shut their mouths, stop bitching about the 25 cents a time they're losing."

Oh, and what's this? Could another rock feud be over? Courtney and Dave, finally agreeing on something:

"Stealing our copyright provisions in the dead of night when no-one is looking is piracy. It's not piracy when kids swap music over the Internet using Napster. There were one billion downloads last year but music sales are way up, so how is Napster hurting the music industry? It's not. The only people who are scared of Napster are the people who have filler on their albums and are scared that if people hear more than one single they're not going to buy the album."

Courtney knows what's up. She knows that I've tripled my album purchases in the last few months thanks to my Napster account.

But really, I think Thom Yorke expressed my sentiment the best:

"The cool thing about Napster is that it...encourages enthusiasm for music in a way that the music industry has long forgotten to do."

Yep, I am good and pissed about this Napster thing.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com