13:59:46 | 2000-07-18


This is an e-mail I received from a friend yesterday:

What the hell is the matter with you?? First of all, if you don't want to go to the wedding don't go. Whether you cared to remember or not you were told a date a year ago. If you're not interested in going just rsvp no. Secondly, I understand you very BUSY schedule, however I thought it might be nice to spend some time with you. Again, if you're not interested just say so. I'd rather you be upfront with me than "pencil me in" on a weekday. What a fucking cop-out! Partygirl, I don't mean to sound harsh but I feel if I

don't say it then it wouldn't be fair. A. and I are two people who care about you very much. Granted she has been MIA for 4yrs. but this is the most important day in her life and she would like the people she cares about most to share it with her. You are one of those people. However, if it

doesn't mean anything to you then you really shouldn't go. I on the other hand have tried to make time to hang out with you. When you were bummed about your b-day I flew down because I thought it would be fun. You've been a really good friend to me at times when I've needed you. It's just that sometimes I feel like you try to blow me off without being straight about it and that hurts more. So, let's cut through the bullshit, the invitation is open for dinner at my apartment in NYC. If you want to find the time to

hang out, great! If not, that's your choice. I will say no more than that.

The ball is in your court. You call me.

-A

------------------

This was my reply to that e-mail:

This is the rudest e-mail I have ever received. I will not respond to it. I suggest you rationally re-read my response and perhaps you will realize that I said nothing meant to offend nor merit this scathing reproach.

Perhaps you are having a bad day, but that is no excuse to lash out at me or anyone.

*~*

My response was followed by a curt apology.

*~*

Went out for drinks last night. Overdid it on the Magherita's. I don't even LIKE magherita's. Ridiculous. Got home and drunken dialed the nasty e-mail bandit. Told her it was totally unacceptable to be displacing her anger on me. That 1) It's not her place to be angry regarding my attendance at a friend's wedding - it's the friend's place and 2) That e-mail was the work of someone insane and I really want no part of that kind of insanity.

These people...they get very...attached. It's really very bizarre. The worse I treat them, the stronger they hold on. Fighting for time. Some of them are crazy!

I mean, what am I dating this person? And who do you think you are demanding like this from me? That really makes me angry! I get into these friendships and these people know what they are getting into. I make no attempt to hide that I am a freespirit. That I may not be around from one month to the next. That I have a lot of different groups of friends and I'm not going to always mix them up. That I'm not reliable. That I'm not going to be a "best friend." Been there, done that.

What is the deal? I am freaked. This person totally freaked me. This is the second friend this year that freaked me. The other one was equally psychotic, demanding to be called every day, to see me twice a week. Jesus Christ, I don't speak with my family that much let alone some random I went for cocktails with a couple of times.

I need a break away from these people. Maybe it's like when you break up with a BF and to get him over it you set him up with someone else. Maybe I need to set up these freaky friends with each other, or new friends. Maybe they will forget about me.

It's either that, or I relocate within the witness protection program because one of these people is going to snap. It's going to be like the Rebecca Schaffer story (you know, My Sister Sam). Good Lord.

*~*

So margherita's make for some strange dreams. I dreamt that I was walking down Astor Place with Howard Stern and we passed Liam Gallagher on the street walking with his acoustic guitar, singing, like Richard Ashcroft in that Verve video, and he was singing "Wonderwall." So I made Howard stop and I started chatting with Liam and I introduced the two. Howard said he didn't think Liam was talented. I cut off Liam b4 he could spew out several Liverpoolian obscenties that no one would understand with the exception of him or Noel (and possibily Patsy Kensit)and said that Oasis had THE DEFINITIVE ALBUM OF THE 90'S. So then I ask Liam to play "Wonderwall" again, and he does and Howard's groovin' to it and next thing I know, Liam gives me his gold record to show his appreciation.

And then my alarm went off.

I find this disturbing. Mainly, because I hate Oasis and don't even own an album of theirs. I think they are one of the least talented duo of musicians I've seen. It's been years since I even heard "Wonderwall," but I knew the words in my sleep.

And why am I hanging out with Howard Stern?

Oh, b4 I woke up...we started walking away from Liam, me with my new gold record, and in the distance, we see the RAMONES walking toward us.

Can anyone make heads or tales of this?

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com