19:16:29 | 2000-07-19


Word Up.

Since I rarely have anything pleasant to say on here about my work, here's something nice:

Yesterday, I discovered a way cool product that one of our clients makes that will temporarily color your hair. So, C. and S. streaked my hair blue and then orange in the front with the samples. So, of course, now that my hair is blue and orange - I have to have this product for myself. So the account team that handles the product tells me I can have it but they don't have time to bring it to me, so I have to come to them. This means that I need to pass the owner of the company. To avoid this, I sneak up the back way and try to hide, but from her corner office across the floor she spies me and in the middle of a meeting she yells, "Partygirl! Come in here!" I inwardly cringe, bracing myself for the "business casual guideline" speech...but I gloss over my inner anxiety with a brillant smile and walk over.

This is how the confrontation went down:

ME: Hi!

PRESIDENT: Nice hair! You are too much!

"Thanks!" "It's [INSERT CLIENT NAME HERE]"

"Yeah, I know."

"I just couldn't help myself. I saw it and I had to put it on."

"You know, when you apply it, you are supposed to put the streaks from the crown to the ends, toward the middle of your head. The key is to keep the front pieces, framing your face, blonde."

"Oh. I did think about that afterwards, but it was too late, I had already gotten too excited with the product."

"Next time you want to apply it, you should come up to my office. I'll apply it for you."

"Thanks!"

[Partygirl tries to Exit Corner Office]

"OH! Partygirl! When I was in Paris last week, I spotted these little hairpieces you clip into your hair and they come in fabulous, bright colors! So you can pin them into your hair whenever you want. I'll pick some up for you when I go back next week!"

"Really???!!!!! That would be GREAT! I am SOOO EXCITED!"

"What color do you want"

"Ummm, do they have pink?"

"They have HOT Pink."

"Yes, that's EXACTLY what I want!"

So really, life could be worse than working for someone who gives you funky haircolor advice.

*~*

Last night. Out for drinks again. My liver is pleading for probation. My body craves rest. But I truck on. Meet with a friend of a friend as a favor to give her ideas on how to switch careers.

Turns out she's a doll, we had a blast. She works at a radio staion in Woodstock, NY. How rad is that? We are both recovering Deadheads.

*~*

Yesterday afternoon. Get a call from my *favorite* college housemate. She got engaged over the weekend. That leaves 2 single girls left from the WACO group.

I am happy for her. I am not happy that this means I used up the two extra engagement gifts I was smart enough to buy in advance last weekend. People, I can't keep these wedding/engagement gift in stock! I have single people dropping like flies. When did all these people start getting so serious with their BF's??? One night we are all out together, getting bombed, crashing in bed together - maybe 4 to a bed - the next thing I know these people are racing up the isle, two at time! It blows me away.

My Dad tells me not to worry about getting married. He says when people ask him if me or my brother are married, he says no, but neither are divorced either. He also says I'm too young to get married. And I think he's right.

I think I'm too young to use a knives without supervision.

And you want to know something?

C'mere. Closer,

Cloooossssssser,

CLOSER!

Okay.

[STAGE WHISPER] It's a SECRET.

But, sometimes...

when no one is around...

I run around my apt. with a lollipop in my mouth and a scissor in hand!

Oh, I'm crazy! Don't try to stop me!!!!! YIPPPPPPPEEEEEEEEE, WOOOOO WOOOOOOOOOO!!! I'm nuts!

Anyway, I am going for drinks tonight with the WACO bitches. To continue my pet project, which is pickeling my liver.

*~*

One more thing. I'm helping to organize at 30th b-day pary for a friend. So I'm looking into entertainment. I see a listing in the phone book. It says "IMA Clown." So I call.

IMA calls me back."

ME: "Hello?"

IMA: "Hi, this is IMA Clown!"

"Oh, hi! I was calling to check your pricing for a birthday party. How much do you charge for an hour?"

"Well, how old's your child and how many will be at the party?"

"CHILD!?!? Oh. It's not a child. This is for a 30th birthday party."

"Oh."

"$100, for balloon sculpting and magic tricks."

"Great! Thanks"

"Hey....you know my friend took me to chucky cheese for my 40th birthday and I've done other 30th birthday parties, so I'd don't think this would be weird."

"Uhhhh, thanks..I'll call you back if we're interested."

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com