7:18 p.m. | 2001-06-27


Some days, I just want to take a vacation from myself. A vacation is a great fantasty, but I am quickly catching on to the fact that there are no vacations in the "new economy."

The New Economy is not my friend. It's a load of shite. It's the movie equivalent of "A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon." *gasp* There, I said it. I don't care.

This heat is almost unbearable. I use the disqualifier "almost" because I know it will be worse in the next few weeks and I'll need to save a few choice descriptors for those days when I *really* need to convey how absolutely unbearable it all becomes.

However, I am already laying in my bed at night wearing nothing but my underwear. I say laying, rather than sleeping, because it's too hot to sleep. It's all I can do but lay there and rest with my eyes shut.

It's so heinous. I cannot function in the heat. It's so foul. And I feel foul. I don't want to be touched or see anyone. I want to hide under a cool rock.

When I opened my eyes this morning, I felt like I was transported to the desert scene in "The English Patient."

So of course, I left shopping for the wedding this weekend until today. When do I have time to go shopping? Between working and chasing after The Runaway Groom, I'm booked up! I barely had time to go and get waxed yesterday. But I did, because, ladies, waxing is a priority. You know it.

Moving on, I had to go shopping during my lunch hour today. High heat and humidity and with limited time, it was a near disaster. I was close to breakdown in the dressing room because I tried on about 150 outfits, none of which rocked.

And it needs to rock.

Net, net I found this bohemian-chic ankle length skirt...think "Rhoda goes to the Opera"...and I just need a top to go with it and some really strong jewelry.

I have decided to go with a whole "Rhoda" ensemble for this wedding. If I could pull off a kerchief on my head, I would, but I think it's a little to cas. for wedding wear.

The key to my outfit, is going to be the assessories. What I need, is a long, red beaded necklace - something I have been looking for forever. Think: those long pearl necklaces flappers wore, but with muted red beads. That's what I think I need. And a silver cuff bracelot, which is easy. Hoops also.

I may tease my hair into a beehive bob and go totally mod.

But I definitely need to pull out a top and accessories. I was thinking that I could buy the beads and string them myself. I just don't know when I will have time to run downtown to search for and buy the beads.

I'm going to check out my closet. I think I might be able to pull out something appropriate to go with the skirt.

Ooh! I am so excited!

I wish I had time to track down a pair of vintage 70's shoes...that would *really* seal the deal.

Time for the Partygirl to regroup.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com