11:57 a.m. | 2001-08-03


This is your Partygirl. These are drugs. These are groupie's. This is your Partygirl on drugs, with groupie's.

And so you have it. I wonder sometimes who I am and what makes me into this person that people seem to study; a person who adapts to her surroundings, as bizarre as they can sometimes be. I've known "dancers" and I've been within 20 feet of the Queen of England. I find people from the Appalacia more fascinating than the Rolling Stones and Madonna combined.

Wednesday night I saw patrons of a national restaurant chain go nuts with the arrival of that Mormon chick and the christian guy from The Real World. This is aspect of society scares me: that members of The Real World are mobbed by fans and Nobel Peace Prize winners can walk in anonymity. What IS that? Why are these people celebrities?

It�s heinous.

Moving forward, I did some major damage at the MTV bash. I heard I had a good time. Uh, oh. I was just watching the recap and remembered a few things that happened.

All in all, I was on excellent behavior, minus a bizarre run in with one of the original VJ's in the women's bathroom. But that was more his bad than mine.

Beside following Tommy Lee around like it was my job (as if he would ever be interested - *snort*) - the place was tame.

However, I have observed first hand what goes dreadfully wrong at these events. You see, by doing all of this commentary and via satellite crap, they are leaving a roomful or rockstars and the like to their own devices at an open bar. MTV, what are you THINKING??? It's like leaving a junkie to guard a kilo. No one leaves until the shit is DONE.

If no one is performing, and we can't hear the interviews - we are going to be at the bar. And there was a ton of lag time. So half way through the event, everyone is just LOADED. I mean fucked up. Me included.

Fucked up enough to think that TLC's performance was Say What Karoake?....oh that's right, TLC's performance WAS Say What Karoake! What a fucking joke. They should spend a little less time sewing letters onto shredded denim and more time on vocal training. No, really, I'm just glad they found Left Eye. I mean, doesn't anybody remember a few months ago when her management team couldn't locate her and they issued a statement asking her to call home and asked anyone who had seen her to call a help line??? I was concerned! And then they never followed that up. I had her mocked up for a milk carton! But there she was in all of her TLC glory, like nothing happened.

And does anyone know anything Busta Rhymes sings??? I see him up there all the time and damn if I couldn't name one song he owns...

Puffy or P. Diddy? Fuck it, I'll call him Momma's Boy like he is. Or Mary, and tell it like it REALLY is. Now Mary J., she laid it OUT. Damn, she's got sista power.

Salt 'n Pepa, now that was a welcome sight. With Naughty By Nature to make it a family affair. You down with O.P.P.? Yeah, you know me....but I guess Spindarella isn't because she was noticably absent.

Janes Addiction. I'm addicted. COME BACK.

But I have some questions for the talent bookers: Where were the Beasties? What about Sonic Youth? Debbie Harry? Pat Benetar, too busy with Rocky Horror? Don't even try to tell me Weird Al was already booked elsewhere! Word to Michael Stipe - everyone knew you were gay all along - it's okay to play live again...Michael Jackson, you may be looking for a Pretty Young Thing and not like one, but get those fucked up contacts out and give me some Thriller!

Where the hell was everybody? I know where I was until late night...hanging out, draining pitchers of bad sangria with some rock chick groupie's who've lain with the equivalent of the Farm Aid Line Up.

And that's how I like it. A little bit 'o rock and roll, a little bit 'o country.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com