6:35 p.m. | 2001-11-13


Today, Toastgirl reminded me, is the one year anniversary of our friend Menzer's death.

One whole year. I can't even believe it. It seems like yesterday that she called me and I cursed out his dead name for being just another junkie; just another statistic.

Maybe he's better for not having been here this past year and seeing the shit that went down, but I can't say we wouldn't be better off if he *were* here and I would bet that his crazy ass would already be enlisted by now. "Fuckin' shit up!" he'd say.

We miss you, Menzer.

*~*

Yesterday, I saw two fights break out. One, when I was standing on Orchard. Some Kid Rock wannabe came strutting up the street, mouthing off from a block away to a bunch of rough looking Latino guys. "Yo bitch! You better have my money, bitch!"

For second, I thought he was talking to me and then I realized this white boy was shooting trash at a group of Latinos.

I knew it was going to get ugly fast so I ducked into a doorway and lit an extra cigarette, in case I needed to defend myself and burn someone's eye out.

(Because it's normal to think like this...I know.)

Kid Rock-a-be got within 10 feet of the group and then took a running leap and got a right hook in this guy's neck like you don't even know! The guy went down, but then the other three jumped in. It was insane!

Kid Rock-a-be was a junkie. Doped into high noon. I was surprised he was able to throw that much energy behind his punch. Amazing what you can do when you allow powder to replace your soul. I've seen that look before, enough to know to disappear before you are mistaken for someone else.

I crossed the street, staring the entire time.

The other fight was some similiar bullshit.

You never used to see fights around town, except for the late-night drunken ones.

These are different times. Feels like more people are using. People have these looks of desperation, like they just don't give a shit. People lost jobs and have less money.

I feel like some Leviathon shit is going to go down here unless things pick up.

I've read Hobbes. I know how the story ends. I don't need to live it.

People need to chill.

That every man, ought to endeavor Peace, as far as he has hope of obtaining it; and when he cannot obtain it, that he may seek, and use, all helps, and advantages of War."

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com