11:38 a.m. | 2001-11-12


I used to use the phrase "New York Minute" a lot. I am really relearning the meaning of that phrase as of late. As in, "Your life can change in a New York Minute."

Today, again, people's lives have changed in a New York Minute. Just as fast as the blink of an eye, and 250 people are gone.

Blink.

I was running errands when the sirens started blaring past me. Sirens sound all the time here, but when they all go at once - police, fire trucks, ambulances - it means something else now. I finished up quickly and briskly walked back to my apartment to turn on my TV. I watched the raw footage live, as I stood by my window and simultaniously watched the smoke rise beyond the river.

I don't have anything poetic or insightful to say. All I am thinking is how our lives can change in a New York minute and that makes it even more important to make the most of every extra minute we are given to live.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com