8:51 p.m. | 2002-01-29


Damn! It was frickin' hot in NYC today! It's so freaky.

I personally can't be bothered by the weather, because I am preparing for the shit to fly when the Anarchists hit my block on Thursday. I am in what the city has labeled the "freeze" zone. Perhaps you saw my block highlighted in red in the New York Times today? Ah yes, the beauty of being in a targeted area. Not to mention that my building is surrounded by the offending symbols of capitalism: Starbucks, McDonalds, several large banking centers and other commercial chains.

Yeah, we're pretty much fucked. Personally, I'm looking forward to a little excitement and frankly, I don't think these people have any idea what they're in for. NYC isn't Seattle. First, our cops are fierce. Second, they are good and pissed that 9/11 happened and there's no way in hell they're going to let anyone trash their city again. There's a reason they are called New York's Finest and mainly it's because they don't fuck around.

And then there are the FDNY. The frozen area is filled with firehouses and if you've learned anything from last fall, you learned that our FDNY doesn't quit. They go in to get a job done and they don't leave their men behind, that's why we lost so many in Sept. They didn't follow the orders to evacuate, they tried to save their guys. That hasn't hasn't changed.

And there are the New Yorkers. We are a new breed. We will fuck shit up to save our own and we won't tolerate this nonsense. You read about and saw images of our people when we were attacked. New Yorkers saved each other. They risked their lives for it. And that's when we weren't expecting it. Imagine how strong we are now. But on top of the strength, my people are good and angry from what happened. You don't want to provoke them, really, you don't.

Now, I like a good protest as much as the next person. I'd like to end the McDonaldization of America. But I sure as hell wouldn't do it in New York, right now.

Oh yeah, it's going to be an interesting week. I hope my local Starbucks dumps canteens of boiling coffee on anyone who fucks with them. On 9/11 they offered victims free drinks and help to clean up. After that, they served rescue workers for no charge. They are as much a part of New York as the Statue of Liberty now.

As for me, at the first sign of trouble, I plan on hitting my pre-planned escape route screaming "anarchy!" just to throw all the freaks off and then getting the hell out of dodge.

I'm no fool.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com