1:38 p.m. | 2002-02-04


A few items.

First, I am really excited for the Patriots. Although I am an Eagles fan and was boycotting the Superbowl yesterday, I must admit that in the 4th quarter I finally put my book down and was riveted to the screen. And frankly, the Patriots won me over.

Talk about team spirit! In the interviews after the game not one of them would take credit for their individual roles, instead, they tossed it back to each of their teammates, their coaches and even their fans. They rocked.

I was disappointed that the kicker wasn�t made MVP, but what can you do?

So, I�ll say something I never thought I would EVER say: GO PATRIOTS!

*~*

I watched the game with my oldest friend and one of her late-husband�s best friends and my brother. We were all blown away by the Clydesdales/NYC spot. I cried. I just thought it was so beautifully done. No catch phrases filled with advertising buzzwords and more �God Bless America�s,� just a beautiful, silent nod.

I also have a big announcement. As you know, I lead the �I hate U2� club. I�ve never liked U2. Bono irritates the hell out of me. However, I have been leaning toward revising my stance in the last few months because Bono has been fairly eloquent in his discussion of the attacks we had. He also flashed my friend�s names on those screens during his tour this fall and in truth, nothing would make my friend�s husband happier than that. I said to her that I�m almost glad he�s not here to see that because we would never hear the end of it.

What U2 did last night was exceptional. They played to entertain, but at the same time they showed respect for the deceased and they emanated love. It was such a clich� thing�Bono making that heart with this hands�but it was so�appropriate. It feels like they pay tribute to those we lost not because it�s the trendy to do, but because they understands the magnitude of the loss. That�s all I kept thinking as the four of us sat in silence and watched those screens filled with scrolling names - some that we knew personally, some that we know now just from checking the missing lists so frequently. I didn�t even realize I had spoken outloud until I heard myself say, �My God, it�s just...so many people.� I don�t know, maybe U2 is more understanding of this kind of loss because of the situation in Ireland, but it just seemed like they were the right people doing the right thing at the right time.

That�s all.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com