10:33 p.m. | 2002-07-24


My roommate and I usually spend our nights talking about news of the day. Our discussion usually ends with two findings: 1) We should each be making at least a million dollars based on our intelligence and the amount of slack we pick up at our respective jobs 2) We need to leave the public sector and apply our strategic thinking, problem-solving and managerial skills to mismanaged government agencies.

Each night, my tirade goes something along this:

"WHO is accountable anymore?! WHO is going to accept responsibility for the actions of their agency/company?! I want someone to STAND UP and not only assume responsibility for errors and mismanagement, but also tell me what they are going to do to solve the problem that emerged on their watch!

I want accountability within the government, I want accountability on the corporate level, I want accountability at the community level.

When something goes wrong with one of my accounts, do you think a client would accept a non-committal answer from me along the lines of "I don't know what happened" and then a finger pointing charade????

NO.

They would pull their account. I would be fired. Period.

What the F*** is wrong with this country that we are letting people get away with a shrug of their proverbial shoulders and a rousing game of finger pointing?!

It's bullshit. These people play the same game, but the rules don't apply because we don't question them on it.

We are meek, weak, pip squeaks."

My roommate suggested we lead a protest.

"Lead a protest!" I said. "And who would come? The four people left in this country with conscience??? the reality is that you can't get a crowd to march on Washington for terrorism or international policy gone wrong these days, but on any given Saturday night I can walk into the White Circuit party around this nation and find 5,000 half naked revelers gathered for a 8 hour display of debauchery. I could walk into the Roxy this weekend and find 4,000 people gathered to hear a shitty DJ but put Gloria Steinem on the Hill and you MIGHT get 50 people to show up.

The apathy in this country is astounding.

Someone's got to do something and let me tell you, if this government and corporate irresponsibility continues, I *will* quit my job and take over the pubic sector because someone with some intelligence has to step up to the plate."

It's like the entire nation is sitting in the backseat playing the name game and I tell you, if I'm driving and there is bad behavior going on, I *will* turn this car around.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com