8:02 p.m. | 2003-03-18


Which is a greater threat to the United States: Iraq or North Korea?

So why are we going after Iraq? The obvious answer is oil. We are going after Iraq to maintain low oil prices and great reserves. But maybe it's more personal. Maybe our President is seeking family honor, finishing a job his father wasn't able to do. Clearing the family name in a duel that puts several nations at risk. So the citizens will hide in the corner of the metaphorical kitchen as the neighbors throw punches.

Maybe we going to war to truly fight back at terrorism. Maybe the white house is thinking that it's too hard to catch those kamikaze terrorists. These individuals, highly trained and few in number, are scattered like ants around the globe, underground, planning in cells to wreak damage that will harm thousands of innocent people per each one of them.

So maybe the white house knows that finding these men one by one is a long and arduous task, so instead, they are pulling a Martin Lawrence. They figure they can jump out at the world, acting all crazy-like with guns blazing, and act so completely insane that other countries will leave us alone. Think about it, who's crazy enough to attack Charles Manson in prison? That guy is a seriously psychotic, badass Muther f*cker. No one is touching his crazy ass. And no one is going to touch the US after this insane invasion.

Or so they may think. But as inevitably happens in a fistfight, the people who go in to break it up also get hurt. So at what risk are the people of America and other nations involved? How many lives will be given to end this dispute? And while the fight is on, how many other lives are taken by the long forgotten inhabitants of the evil cells?

How do we win? Can we win?

I don't know the answers to any of these questions, but I know I got e-mail about a year ago from a soldier stationed in Saudia Arabia who told me he was thinking of me after September 11th. I also know that I have a friend in place on the border of Kuwait as I type.

I know that I've seen the footage of our boys over there, tanned from the desert sun and looking very young and all-american in their fatigues playing a game of touch football during their off times.

I'm proud of our boys. I'm proud of every single one of them for being brave and believing whole-heartedly in the concept of protecting American liberties and freedom.

At the same time, I understand war and the tragedy that comes with it and I want our boys home safely, even it means our oil increases by 5 dollars a galleon.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com