9:42 p.m. | 2003-04-14


Thank God for friends and family.

I was sinking into a bad place a few days ago, so the reinforcements came in on Saturday. Frogs and Toastress arrived just as I was making more mistakes and wallowing in Susan Tedeschi tracks.

We went out for dinner and drinks. I had a lot of drinks. We ran into one of the WACO girls from college and another old friend and suddenly I was reminded of this amazing life filled with friends that I had and abandoned. That life hadn't left me, I had abandoned it.

While I was busy living with blinders on and allowing my self-esteem to plummet into a black hole, these people had always been there for me.

Saturday night felt like a giant hand reached out to me and picked me up off the floor.

Sunday was even better. I went out for dinner with my friend D. whom I haven't really spoken with in months. My lapse in contact with her made me feel like the damage I had done to our friendship was irrepairable, but last night, she told me to never feel like that again.

Everybody does this once in their life, she said, referring to my "lost" period. The key is to recognize it and come back, she pointed out. My mistake was in thinking that the damage was too far gone. And she told me, that for some reason that she can't pinpoint, she's got a soft spot for me and will always be there for me. She's my best friend.

During all of this, we met this amazing guy on Sunday. I know what you're thinking, but it's not like that. I've seen him around my neighborhood for the last four years and always wanted to meet him. I wasn't disappointed.

New people are a good thing. Old peeps are good too.

So I guess you could say I did some spring cleaning this weekend.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com