10:37 p.m. | 2003-05-07


Workwise, this week has sucked. I had some things that went down required playing hardball and that's one of my least favorite ways to conduct business. My overall attitude is that you catch more flies with honey than vinegar, but sometimes, someone pours vinegar down your throat and the only thing you can do is spit it right back at them. And then you throw a match on them so they understand not to do it again. I spit on a few people this week. I plead the fifth on matches.

Beyond those circumstances, things are great. I've been spending my time getting my finances in order. This is a full time job. I've had to consult an attorney to sort out the errors on my credit report and have launched a full force letter writing campaign to correct my report that is filled with someone else's information.

I enjoy paying people out of my fraying and sad pockets to clean up mistakes that aren't mine, really. It rocks. I also like paying an increasing property tax, a higher city tax and while we're at it, that "rich" tax that's coming. Rich my ass. Now, I'm not saying I make the required 100K for that tax, but I will say that 100K ain't 100K in this town. Not with the rents and cost of living.

I tell what I will do a back flip for - that commuter tax. Screw all those people coming and making NYC wages and not getting nickel and dimed like the rest of us. WE KEEP THIS CITY ALIVE. They use our police and firemen for protection. They walk our sidewalks that need repair and travel our streets that require repair. Bastards. I'd like to see NYC face the urban challenges of city vacancy like Chicago and Philly dealt with. They had to practically beg people to come back. That loss hurt where it hurts, in the city budgets.

But enough of my tirade. This week I cleaned up my room and started throwing out the symbols of my 20's. I threw my curtain of beads out. I bought a bakers rack and assembled it. I set up my new microwave and toaster oven, both birthday presents. I've selected the paint for my room. I bought several spools of thread for my sewing machine, but I haven't yet been brave enough to tackle that hobby. There's time.

I went out tonight to hang out with my best friend, A., whom I haven't seen in weeks. I introduced him to the beermosa, my new drink. We played Golden Tee 2004. I almost broke my hand.

I love my new bar and its people. They are all so friendly and nice. Tonight, one of the owners came over to thank me for bringing my birthday party to his bar on Saturday and to comment on how nice my friends and family are. He said, "Everyone was so polite and cool, you have a good group of people," and I said, "yeah. yeah I do."

I'll tell ya, if this is 30, sign me up.

Feel me, y'all.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com