4:33 p.m. | 2006-02-24


When I read old entries in this journal I feel like I fall back in time. Some of these stories are from such a different time. A different time in my life and in New York. It's great to remember how the clubs were; "clubbing" used to be such a big thing. Not those Marquee-type places that are more bars with a sitting area and a hot DJ. I'm talking CLUBS. I'm talking cavernous, industrial-type places with many rooms and many floors. Converted cathedrals. That sort of thing. Places that you got dressed up in a freaky costumes - the freakier the better - and drank water all night but were wasted.

That was old school. I'd love to be back in time for a day around age 25. Whacked out on something in a DJ booth looking down on the grooving crowd while the DJ showed me how he spins. Headphones up to his ear because the song is playing for the club, and he's listening to the two other records he's spinning and remixing together for the next jam. Getting watered down drinks with free drink tickets from the employee bar hidden in the club. Deciding to split from the DJ booth with another girl, head downstairs and dance through the hot crowd with steam coming off of them, to go into a small room with the wall covered in shag carpeting and orange and red lights to visit with all of the club fags coated in glitter and wearing hotpant-boyshorts and fur vests.

And I was 24 or 25. That girl is like another person I once knew. It's so bizarre because it's not even 10 years ago. It's just that so much has happened since then. So much has changed.

I'm glad I was her. I wouldn't have wanted to be anyone else. No regrets.
*~*
Things are going to change soon for me. Should be interesting to see who I become this time.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com