14:48:14 | 2000-10-27


OH. MY. GOD.

OHMYGOD.

Oh, God....

I am totally horrified.

My face is flushed and all I can do is laugh.

You readers know I love you. And it's only because I love you that I will embarrass myself here for your benefit. Actually, not true. I embarrass myself to a lot of people.

Because if you can't laugh at yourself, you got problems.

Allow me to share.

So you remember this guy from yesterday, right?

Well, yesterday, I e-mailed this to him:

Hello Cigarette Guy -

I pulled your card out of my bag this morning. Thought I would drop you a line to see how you you are doing this morning, as I slightly overdid it last night. The red wine, not a good idea for a long night of drinking.

I got home at 3AM. I think you can imagine....

Oh, and my name is Partygirl. We weren't formally introduced. Actually, we really weren't introduced at all. Well, maybe I requested you introduce yourself in exchange for a cigarette? But I don't think I told you my name. I should probably end this ramble right now.

So, hi.

-Partygirl

*~*

And I didn't hear back yesterday. But this morning, he sends me this:

Hello.

Sorry to take so long to reply. I'm OK.

I'm sorry but I can't place you.

Those events are always sensory overload.

Boy

*~*

Let's all say it collectively: OH. MY GOD.

I started screaming in my office. People gathered. I showed them all. Disbelief and excuses were voiced. "Maybe he's playing coy," they offered.

Maybe he was BOMBED, I said.

Maybe I am a TOTAL ASS.

But I have to laugh. So I write back:

Really....

After you brandished your business card with such a flourish?

At this, I have to laugh.

-Partygirl

*~*

I hit send and have already written him off. He responds to that almost instantaneously:

You make me sound so cavalier - I feel like a fool. I think everyone was dangerous with the business cards that night. So what is X (my company) all about?

-BOY

*~*

And so I decided to break it down for him:

X is about nothing you would cover....to be quite frank. I do X PR, mainly for X and X clients. I used to work at a hi-tech agency and my co-worker from that place now works at X in SF. It was their party.

I was at the smoking table. Which you frequented. Well, you and everyone else. Cigarettes were apparently a black market commodity that night. My friend was brunette, I have short blonde hair, we were the only two people with full packs of cigarettes.

Maybe you thought the deal was a business card for a smoke? I have no idea what you were doing. But if it makes you feel any better, I'm sure I made an ass out of myself....I was screaming peoples names when they came over for cigarettes. I'm sure I screamed yours, too...

If any of this sounds vaguely familiar, feel free to let me know.

-Partygirl

*~*

This, by the way, would only happen to Partygirl. Do you have idea of the number of business cards and scribbled down phone numbers I get in a week? But NEVER, and I mean NEVER, have I initiated contact. It's just not the way I work. It they want to talk to me, they can find me. That's how I feel about it. I'd much rather be pursued. And generally, once I am pursued, I get bored.

So finally, FINALLY, I break the stupid pattern. And this is the result.

Murphy's Law. Cubegirl, do yourself a favor and go back to girls.

*~*

And this just in, Rico Suave (aka the boy we've been discussing) just e-mailed this to me:

you were at the end booth behind the bar, sitting on the outside. right?

*~*

And I replied:

It's all coming back...

*~*

Please let me know in my guestbook if you people think I should continue with this ridiculous e-mail charade or give this joker the boot.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com