14:36:54 | 2000-05-12


Not so much in the mood to write today, but here goes...

Today is one of my co-worker's birthday, so I bought a Cookiepuss from Carvel. I've never had a Cookiepuss, but it looks like good shit. The Cookiepuss truly is a genius creation; a little piece of Americana. I mean, truly. So I felt I needed to experience this piece of pop culture. My boss decorated her area and our other co-worker bought the gift. Now they ran out to get the birthday girl flowers. PLUG: My birthday is next week!

More wedding news, and this is very exciting! Frank is going to propose to Erin and he's asked ME* to pick up the ring from Erin's sister and bring it down to the shore. I'M SO EXCITED. And a little nervous; this is a REALLY big responsibility. God, pls. don't let me lose it. I told one of my roommates and she looked at me and said, "Better not pull a 'My Best Friends Wedding'" and I asked her what she meant? She said, you know, when Julia Roberts tries on the ring and then can't get off? And then she's like, you know you're going to try on that ring....There was no point in denying it, of COURSE, I have to try on the ring. AS IF I could pick up that Tiffany's box and not open it?!? It's not like Frank (or Erin) would care anyway. I mean he knows I'm going to look at the ring, so he must expect that I might see how it looks? Quite frankly, I can't wait to get my hands on it!

While we are on the marriage topic, what's up with everyone and their grandmother sending me wedding invites? I must be that person people just add to their lists or something - the Fun Bobby of weddings - because last weekend I found in my pile of mail that's been sitting around for weeks an invite to the wedding of a girl that I haven't spoken with since I graduated from high school in 1991. And quite frankly, I didn't even SPEAK with her in high school, except for maybe each time I would run for student council because in a small school like I went to, every vote counts. So, I see her last in June of 1991 at my graduation, actually, maybe I saw her at my 5-year reunion in 1996, but I was loaded and on drugs so that doesn't really count...Anyway, I get this store bought Precious Moments invitation and I am just stunned speechless. First, I have no idea who she tracked me down in NYC. Second, how did she even REMEMBER me? It's so strange how people can connect with you and you don't even realize it. Needless to say, I will not be attending this wedding.

My brother is coming up tonight. He's bringing screen doors for this apratment to save me from my mosquito infested neighborhood. West Nile Virus central. So there's this mosquito problem and people are freakin' out, me included, yet there isn't a store on this concrete island that sells screens. DUH. I told my brother he should buy a bunch he we should sell them on my corner for a $100. And we'd get it too. People are desparate. I'd pay a hundie for a screen door.

Anyway, I'm planning some festivities* for tonight. We're gonna tear up in the East Village. And then we are driving down to the shore and helping our parents move into the summer house. Details on Monday...

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com