15:24:00 | 2000-08-03


So, I go to see The Dan Band last night. That would be Kathy Nygimy's husband's band. He looks like a frat boy and sings covers of women's songs - everything from "I Am Woman" to "Gloria" to "Shoop." Literally, it was the funniest thing I have every seen.

Anyway, this is a one night only, private show, basically a press show with celebs sprinkled in to entice the press to cover it. So I go, as a favor to a friend who's running it.

Trust me, my friend did me a favor - like I said, this show is GENIUS. Brilliant.

So my roommate H. and I head downtown and met Jen. C. tells me in advance that Molly Ringwald has arrived and I shouldn't say anything nasty to her that will make her go home. I fake indignity at this comment, "Who me? As if!"

Go to the Fez and spot C., who is talking to Mia Tyler and her friend. So we are introduced, chat and get drinks. Mia, BTW, looks EXACTLY like Liv. Even more so than in photos. She's also not a very big girl, considered she is a "plus" size model. She didn't look very "plus."

We head to the back and C. tells us that Ralph Macchio is there. H. and I are in TEARS, because one Halloween when we were in college, Deb dressed as a shower, and H. and our other friends dressed in the full skeleton outfit and ran after Deb in the shower all night - reenacting the BEST scene from Karate Kid.

So we are seated at this table, right next to the stage. I am staring head on at Jimmy Fallon from SNL, who is seated next to Brittney Murphy. The table behind them is Laura Dern with Julie Cypher, you know Melissa Etheridge's GF. She's incredibly pretty in person - and tall!

The next thing I know, this editor, Dan, that I had met earlier, came over and asked if he and his friends could join us. His friends were Jason and Ralph (Macchio, as in the Karate Kid). H. dives in with handshakes right away and I said "Hi" and my friend Jen, who thinks she's being suave, is like, "What's your friend's name? Ralph? Ralph? Is that it?" Playing dumb. I'm like, "Hello, it's the Karate Kid!" but she tells me later she was playing dumb. Meanwhile, H. is turning to me, saying "Danielson" and I am karate chopping the air under the table. I believe shortly after the introductions Dan's friends got their cell phones out and started checking messages and I leaned down and said to them, "Oh, look at the yuppie's checking their phones...." and smiled. Maybe this is what C. meant when he told me not to scare away Molly Ringwald?

Anyway, the show was amazing. Shortly into the show, I turned around and saw that Molly Ringwald was now sitting next to H. So I have to tell her. She's cracking up.

Anyway, the show was great. I didn't get to tell Brittney Murphy how much I loved her photos in FLAUNT Magazine, but she did ask me where the men's room was for her friend. I knocked into Kathy Nygimy(sp?) on my way out.

Reigned it in pretty early (ie - ran out of money so I couldn't stay and drink until all hours) Got home around 12:30 or 1AM.

Dreams of, "wax on, wax off" soon followed.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com