20:19:04 | 2000-07-13


Can I be dismissed? Because I am frazzeled.

Not easy to do, but I am. I'm working on, like, 20 projects. Most my time is spent bugging people to get me and my dept. the appropriate information so we can get the work done. And then, miraculously, all the information came at once, with people telling me "This is priority," "This needs to be looked at ASAP." Perhaps they should clone me.

Sassy, aren't I?

I should have written earlier in the day, when I was pleasant. Stupid girl.

I downloaded Kathie Lee Gifford's "Born For You" today to torment the kids here at work. It worked. Feel the Love. It hurt me more than it hurt them. But they need to be reminded that it could be worse. They could WORK for Kathie Lee and have to hear her sing all day.::SHUDDER::

The Rhinestone machine arrived today. We have already sampled it. It's good shit. I'm going to make a million dollars with my AMAZING couture designs. It will be fabulous.

I'm taking orders. Just send me your favorite t-shirt. but remember, the rhinestones don't come off. So I don't want to hear it if you're to basic to understand the brillance of my designs and decide you don't like it. Buh-bye to that. I AM A VISIONARY. I must create FREELY. Like Ace Freely. Or whatever his name is. Isn't that the guy from KISS? Now THAT would be a great T-shirt! I think I could make a tribute to Ace if I had the right color rhinestones. That's my goal! YES! I will make an ACE, in make-up, rhinestoned shirt! WOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. That will be my peace de-resistance!

What else? I'm going out for drinks tonight with my friend Jen for her birthday. Last night I went for drinks with my friend MM and the new intern at work. The new intern is 20, and needs my guidance. He's a BABY. He really concerned me. Anyway, after last night, he started to slightly annoy me - so I'm going to have to throw him back out there. The kid's on his own. It's a tough world, but we all have to find our way.

And I have enough pet projects. Let alone, gay men, in my life.

How's about a little time for moi? God, wouldn't it be great to sit around and smoke and drink and watch movies for a whole weekend? Maybe leave for an afternoon and do some vintage clothes shopping in the East Village? But otherwise, just hang out. I'm always on the run. Going here, going there, meeting someone, introducing someone to someone, dropping something off, picking something up....can it all just stop? It was nice, when I was out sick, laying on my couch.

Tonight on World News tonight they are covering a group of people in San Onofre, CA who have been riding waves since Franklin Roosevelt was in the White House. They call it "Surfing for Life." I would like to surf for life. Or boat for life. I'm definitely coastal (not postal).

Another thing in the news are police beatings. But I want to explore the people taping these beatings. Is everyone in the world an auteur filmmaker now? What is the deal? It's bad enough these people are taping these things rather (than trying to help the person beaten, or maybe minding their own business if applicable) but how irresponsible is the media to just throw these images on the air without conscience??? I see so many things on air that should be censored. Real time police chases and stand-offs that help a criminal evade capture!

In this case, I wonder if the perpetrator attacked a cop? Or maybe he raped a woman or child? I don't even like cops. I just want the whole story. Not the sensationalist side of the story. But more than that, I dislike being being fooled into the media's version of a news story.

I would like to play a game with a America. Here's how it would work: I would show consumers an image. Then I would ask them to "spin" the image. How many stories could you think of behind that image? "Police beat Suspect." "Suspect Fights Back." "Police Avenge Murderer of Fellow Sgt." "Suspect Avenges Illegal Police Raid of His Home." "Suspect Protests Impounding of His car for Outdated Tags." "Suspect Fights for his Life after Daughter is Nabbed, Police Do Nothing." "Police ignore Code of Conduct." "Police Modify Uniforms While on the Job." "Police Cars Take Beating from Suspects." The possibilities are endless, but at the end of the day, you see one image: 5 cops beating 1 suspect. That violence cements the image in your mind's eye, and regardless of the story, that's what you remember. Images in the media are a very powerful thing. TV is a very powerful tool.

I wonder if you all think about the many sides to a news story when you watch the news, or if you place your blind faith in that anchor you know nothing about, but regard as a friend?

Makes me think of that film, Arlington Road, I think it was. Pretty F-ed up.

but here's a quick test to prove my point: Do you remember the spaceship Challenger blowing up? If yes, can you remember any other astronauts name other than Christie McAuliffe? Can you remember why the spaceship blew up? Those are two important elements to that news story - elements without which, the story would be incomplete. But can u remember? Probably not. That's okay. Most of the coverage led with Christie. She made the human interest angle. I don't even remember seeing the families of the other astronauts in the follow up coverage.

Guess they were expendable.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com