12:08:05 | 2000-04-20


A couple of short notes on last weekend:

-Went out to Crooklyn, for a party at C. and M.s. They invited about 20 people, I brought about 15...

-Ended up at the SNL afterparty. Boooooorrrrring. Tara met Toby Maguire and his GF. I missed Courtney Love. Went home around 4:30AM, because as I told the crew, when Courtney goes home - it's time to go. But didn't get to bed until 6AM, as we had late-night.

-Deb continued on to the afterparty. She's still not sure what happened, but she woke up covered in blood with Cheri and MaryEllen asking if she was okay. She was taken to the hospital in an ambulance, nasal bone fractured. We suspect she passed out standing up and fell face forward. Last thing she remembers of getting up to go the bathroom and then blacking out. Not good. She got home around 8AM and was apparently still bombed; we know this because she drunken dialed C.. I have advised her to lay off the sauce.

-In the maylee, someone held onto her purse for her. She finally tracked it down on Tuesday and went to pick it up. Turns out Horatio had it for her.

Cut to Tuesday night:

Tara and I went to Tenacious D. For those of you not in the know, Tenacious D. is comprised of Jack Black (co-star in High Fidelity) and comedy/music cult superstar and Kyle. They rock. I think they would be happy I said that.

The show was at Bowery Ballroom, which, if you haven't been there, is far from a ballroom, but more like an underground Cave. There's only one entrance for everyone and it's down a flight of stairs. So I was watching the door for my friend Scott that we were meeting, when this balding guy was getting a wrist band and staring at me. Literally, I was about 15 ft. away from him and in all fairness, I was staring at the door waiting for my friend, so maybe I was staring but HEY he was staring back. So, I'm squinting my eyes looking at him like "Do I know you?" when he moved forward to let his friend behind him get a wristband and I look at that guy and I'm like HOLY SHIT I DO KNOW YOU!

It was Paige and Trey, from PHISH. You bet your ass it was and they were standing in line in this dark, dank stairway, with a bunch of 17-25 year-olds and then standing at the door because they didn't have tickets and not a soul bothered them. I, meanwhile, Queen of the Subtlety, started freaking out and hitting my roommate Tara. HELLO! PHISH IS IN THE HOUSE! And it's so genius because there's no VIP section, just general admission in this place that holds about 300 people. They walked around the bar to where they approached my chair at the bar and I turned around to say something to Trey, who has his head down kinda, in that slacker kinda way and I open my mouth and....NOTHING. What in hell did I have to say and what's the point anyway? Anything I say isn't going to change their life or mine, really, for that matter. So I just swiveled back around and took a long swig of my beer.

And then I waited for them to pass before I totally freaked out like the asshole I am.

Upstairs later, we ended up running into that cute Paul Rudd from Clueless and Object of My Affection, looking very grunge. Loving that.

So who ends up announcing this show, but Horatio himself! I spoke with him after he exited the stage and I said I heard you saw Deb today, that you had her purse. I said we were very concerned. He said, "yeah I was very concerned about Deb." I said, yeah, but we were more concerned with the purse. He laughed.

The opener, The Naked Babies (highly recommend seeing this comedy troupe)rocked the party that rocked the pah-tay. They were that good. No shit.

And then Tenacious D. came out. And they rocked my world. Just brilliant. Loved the Greatest song in the world. Highly recommend it.

And before I knew it. The encore had ended, the lights went on and the show was over.

Hate that:o(

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com