18:22:38 | 2001-01-23


My best friend D.called me today. She went out last night with work-people. She has a crush on this guy she works with, so she confided in this girl she works with who is a friend of hers.

The girl, is someone who my friend kinda picked up and took under her wing. Before my friend picked her up, this chick was a laughing stock. She's cute but she's one of those girls with low-self esteem so she projects this attitude to cover it up. And she sleeps with a lot of guys. It's kinda a drag, because she's real cute and I feel she could land herself a great boyfriend (which seems to be what she wants) if she stopped being the town bicycle. I think you know�

So my friend D. has taken this girl under her wing. And because of that, basically everyone is being nicer to this girl.

Cut to: last night. Shortly after D. told the girl that she liked the boy, the girl starts coming on to the boy. D. was like, what the hell is going on here? She got pissed, grabbed her coat and half the group she brought to the bar and hightailed it out of there to another bar.

And this is the call I get this morning: "Partygirl, why does this always happen to me? Why do girls I think are friends, go after the boys I like?"

Allow me to explain my theory of girls, as I did to my friend today.

Generally, my feeling is that girls suck. But it's not their fault that they suck.

Girls get all fucked up when they grow up. They are insecure and have self-esteem issues and basically, they wish for a guy to come along to save them. When they start to realize that the "perfect guy" isn't coming to find them, they act in desperation.

Desperation can be identified in a number of ways: sexual promiscuity (GIRL THINKS: Yes! I will trap him with sex and that will make him love me!), back-stabbing (GIRL THINKS: I will expose that girl who is happy in a relationship for a fraud and she will be unhappy and alone like me.), seduction/cheating (GIRL THINKS: Hmmm, she's really happy with him. Maybe if I were with him, I would be happy also?), alienation (GIRL THINKS: I'm not worthy, so why bother going out? No one wants to hang out with me now one will want to meet me.), etc.

Sometimes, girls look at other girls like my friend and they are jealous. It's such a simple observation, yet true. My friends aren't supermodels, but they are pretty and more importantly, they illustrate a fresh joie de vivre in everything they do. Whether they are out at a bar or just hanging out at someone's house, they are having a good time and because of that, most guys want to hangout with them. And because guys like them, other girls want to get on that train too.

When the girls get in there, they want the joie de vivre that my friend owns. They want her happiness. They try to emulate her and others like her. They want what they have. Then, they start to want what my girls want. This means crushes, too. And they take their desperate tactics and apply them here.

This is the problem.

Girls need to get over this whole issue. Stop thinking that you are going to be rescued and rescue yourself. We all need to be happy with ourselves. Like Riot said, Let it Shine!

It's a lot to overcome, your adolescent insecurities. It's a real struggle. But it can be done. And frankly, even after you win this battle, some other nasty, desperate girl will come along and make you feel like dirt. And the insecurity may come back. But you just have to put it away. Put her and her desperation out of your mind. You may, like me, secretly wish that she gets hit by a truck, but really, when you give it some thought, you just feel bad for her.

So freakin' get your act together sista's! We need some solidarity out there among us!

Oh, and in case you haven't heard, the Partygirl is BACK.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com