14:32:54 | 2000-12-06


This may be my last entry for the week, as I will be traveling to Texas on business. I've never been to Texas, so I am pretty intrigued.

And I'm flying first class. Which makes this Partygirl, a very happy girl.

*~*

I'm undecided about what to write today. Maybe it's a little bit of everything.

I went to see a struggling actor-friend's showcase last night. It was fantastic. I ended up going out for cocktails with the entire ensemble cast, and director, afterwards. Somehow, in the process of me telling them all how incredibly talented they are and how well they worked together, I promised to bring a few agent/manager/casting friends next week. Christ. I don't know why I do this to myself.

Pollyanna Partygirl picking up every stray cat that crosses her path. If I spent half the time I spend helping other people on myself, I would more famous that Jesus Christ by now.

I came home and looked at some of the scripts that were passed my way over the last couple of years by agent-friends who always said, "When you decide to commit, give me a call and we'll send you out." Not yet. Not thick skinned enough for the rejection.

Have you ever noticed, that actors love to talk about themselves? Maybe it's because almost everyone I know is an actor, but, as a non-actor, I find it incredibly draining to sit there and reinforce a person's ego for 5 hours straight. It's a phenomenon.

*~*

Back dat azz up. Bling Bling.

Juvenile's tour bus has been parked on my block for two days now. It has his face on the side, but my view is facing the back of the bus which reads "CASH MONEY."

Fucking genius.

The emergence of the bus sent me into one of my annual hip hop frenzies. In high school, I was so into rap. Ghetto Boys, NWA, Public Enemy, Beastie's, and even Biz Markie.

That was my niche. Suburban white girl rapping along to Ice-T. I hated all that other shit...that hair metal crap. Ballads from Whitesnake. Metallica, whom I hate even more now. I was all about the rap. I also got myself into a shitload of trouble this crew I ran with.

In college I discovered the Grateful Dead. This was a turning point for me. If I hadn't found the Dead, I would either be in jail now, or a single mom with a bunch of kids (all different fathers) or dead. Of that I am pretty sure. So I owe a lot of thanks to the Dead for showing me the light.

Anyway, I had this one hippie friend who was ADORABLE. I had the biggest crush. And he was full of surprises. I mean this kid was hippied OUT. But once a year, for a whole weekend, he put away the bootlegs and only listened to gangsta rap. It was crazy. You walked into his dorm room and the walls were reverberating from the drum and bass.

Usually during this weekend, the other heads would abandon him. I think he kinda liked it that way. But I would always make it a point to stop by, because those were my roots. We would put on the silliest shit...like a back-to-back hour consisting of songs with the code name "Jim Brownski" in them...it was bizarre.

Anyway, I haven't hit a rap phase in years, mainly because the rap that's out there now is shit. Now it's a bunch of posers talking over other music that's good. Back in the day, a sample was a SAMPLE.

However, in the same vein, that's why I am diggin' Eminem. Because for the first time in a long time, there's a kid who can Rhyme. He has a style. His cadence is ON. He's got a hook, that wasn't a previous Top 10 single. Yes, I dig his shit.

And I look at pioneers like the Beastie's. They started out as a band and then transformed into rappers. A few years ago they started playing instruments again - I saw them cover the Ramones and Billy Joel. It fucking RULED and I would like to credit them with the rap-metal phenomenon that's dominating TRL today.

Not Limp Bizkit's remake of "Faith," which was a fine song before Fred Durst started screaming the words onstage like a Karaoke number gone, terribly, terribly wrong.

I've always wanted to be a record producer. I was telling this old school British band I was hanging out with last year, that it would be fucking genius to sample that sound that the ATM machine makes when cash comes out. That sound is music to my ears. Silence, silence, silence...STRESS, STRESS...and then woooshwooshhwoosh. Totally recognizable.

That's what I would sample. So I gave just gave away my idea. Whatever, I gave it away a year ago. Just credit me in the liner notes.

And if you are an aspiring musician out there, I have plenty more ideas where this came from...

"Anything goes when it comes to hoes, because pimpin' ain't EZ...pimpin' ain't EZ".

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com