8:18 p.m. | 2002-10-01


Today, before noon, I jumped on the 6 train to Union Square Park and saw the White Stripes play a free show. I got there before noon, and there weren't many people there - like 200. When I turned to leave about 45 minutes later, I realized it had elevated to about 600 scenesters.

It was a cool show and being there reminded me why I've loved living in NYC. It also made me feel a little bit old, looking around at all of the John Mayer look-a-likes from NYU, etc. The other great thing about NYC though, is that there are really hip, older scenesters. It felt like it was more post-college than college kids.

Anyway, if you like the White Stripes, check out a photo a friend of mine took at the show. He was second row standing, stage right.

I guess New York Mag had it right with their cover story last week.

New Rock City.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com