9:01 p.m. | 2002-01-15


So. Last night I am on a manic search around Manhattan to find the Swiffer. I'm sure you are all familiar with this product. Anyway, I was assigned by my roommate to purchase this product for our cleaning lady who was coming this morning. (Yes, we have a cleaning lady. We are working girls. We have no time to clean.)

They didn't have it at my grocery store or the pharmacy, so in a last ditch effort, I popped into the Hardware store on my way home. Jackpot!

Anyway, as I looking down, scrounging for exact change in my wallet (can you believe the Swiffer is $14.06?!?!), I heard the one young man say to the other guy, "What is this thing?" Without missing a beat, I said, "It's a cleaning thing for dust and things in hard to reach places." Then I looked up to give the guy my change and they both looked at me with their mouths open.

"You speak Hebrew?" they asked.

"Ahhhh...no...what are you talking about...?" I stammered.

"How did you know the question he asked? He spoke in Hebrew," the register guy says.

"No, he didn't. He said it in English," I said and then confused, I looked at the other guy.

"No, I spoke in Hebrew," he said and laughed. "You speak Hebrew."

I looked from one to the other, grabbed my bag and rushed out of their store.

Do we think I spoke Hebrew in a past life? I'm having another Shirley Maclaine moment here, people.

This explains my infatuation with Israeli men. It's all clear now.

*~*

Today was a *very* exciting day for me. Today, I took all of the bills I have racked up since 1995 and haven't paid in a year, and I paid each one.

Bloomingdales. Paid. New York Times. Paid. Magazine Subscriptions. Paid. CD order houses. Paid. Credit Cards. Paid.

I now have a total of $692.00 in remaining debt and set up a payment schedule for myself that will have my last remaining account settled in full by the end of February.

This is *very* exiting news for one who has lived in the shadow of debt for the last 4 years.

FUTHERMORE, I placed $200 in a SAVINGS account! I'm on my way, people! I am going to be a financially secure adult soon!

As I was relaying this information to my other, equally in debt friend who is also paying it off this year, I told her that I feel we may be able to get credit cards someday soon without co-signers. And maybe, just maybe, we can one day make a major purchase like a car or a HOUSE!

She said, "Partygirl, could it happen? Could we ever buy a car or a qualify for a mortgage?"

I said, "Yes, if we marry well or buy in Partygirland. The dream is ours for the taking."

A girl can dream, can't she?

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com