12:00 p.m. | 2002-04-21


I'm pretty much checked out of NYC.

This is a pretty big decision and I've spent a great deal of time thinking about it.

I've reached a point where I recognize the young hipsters who've come in and I welcome them to take my place. I don't want to struggle here anymore.

Living in NYC is hard. Everything about it is hard. Life is hard, work is hard, just getting around town is hard. There is no great quality of life here, it's just people so in love with the experience that it's great for them.

It's not great for me anymore. I've fallen out of love with it.

I'm considering quitting my job before finding another in Philly and waitressing for the summer.

That's how serious I am.

The thing with NYC is, you have to love it. I mean, you really have to love it.

The other thing that rings true is something my Dad said to me when I moved here. I was enamored by it all and couldn't believe that anyone wouldn't want to live here. He said, "I would only live here if I could do it right. Living here is for the incredibly wealthy." Now I understand.

I'll never be able to buy anything here. It's impossible to save money here, this place is like a money pit. The city just makes it so hard.

I want to be settled. I want a place I can call my own. I want to decorate a place in my style and right now I don't even know my style, living in such a cluttered space.

So I've told my parents and they think it's a great idea. The think I should work to find a job first and then move.

So I guess for now that's the plan. Move to Philly by 2003.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com