10:50 p.m. | 2002-11-19


Monday was the 6 month marker to my 30th birthday and I have to tell you, I am embracing 30.

I'm not sure what it is, but I am finally seeing my 20's for what they were - complete and utter insanity. A string of casual daliances with boys who were children, hard and fast tangos with drugs, a blurry and lengthy spreadsheet of long drunken nights and unsteady behavior.

My 20's have been a decade of fast living, like I was racing to do everything or die. Maybe both.

I'm really excited about turning 30. I feel like I am finally growing into myself and finally have some control over who I am and who I want to be. It's a fantastic feeling.

I was telling some stories tonight about people I used to hang out with a few years ago and everyone in the room just kinda stared at me, like I was from another planet.

I hung out with some crazy people. Some of them died during that period. I mean not terrorist related, they just died from the lifestyle. I guess I'm lucky that I didn't.

No regrets. That's something I said after college. I wouldn't have done anything differently up to that point, and being honest with myself, right now, thinking over the years and the times, I am satisfied to say I wouldn't have changed anything over the decade. Each thing, good or bad, made me into the person I am today.

That person is ready for a new chapter.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com