9:10 p.m. | 2003-02-06


I was reading the issue of Vogue with Sandra Bullock on the cover today. I love Sandy B. Can't get enough of her.

Anyway, she was talking about something her mother said to her about life and love and I wish I had the magazine here to quote.

It was something along the lines of her mother telling her to never get married, to be independent and ENJOY life. And if she does get married, to marry for love.

If I get married, I want to marry for love.

I watched that Joe Millionaire show tonight, only because my roommate is addicted and forced me to watch. I don't watch reality TV on principle. Let me tell you, I was appalled at what I saw and realized why I don't watch. It is depressing to see the lengths to which individuals will go to get fame and fortune. Completely and utterly depressing.

They have this guy, who is about as smart as a box of rocks, and these girls who are ready to beat each other to get at him because they think he has 50 rocks in the bank.

Never mind that this guy is basically a cro magnum. I mean, is he two steps away from the ape in the evolution process, or is it just me? These girls are completely shelving the opportunity to make a friend and enjoy a foreign adventure in an effort to land this alleged millionaire! I can't think of a worse display of greed.

It sickens me. I will not participate in it. Just watching it lowers my own intelligence, and I'm no mensa member.

I liked Sandy's mom's advice. I want to keep enjoying life. My 29th year has been the best yet. My family, which grew last Fall with my cousin's wedding, just gets better and better. I have AWESOME friends. Sometimes they drive me a little bit crazy, but I wouldn't give up any of them if posed the option. I live in NYC, one of the greatest cities in the world. I have a job that keeps me on my toes. I support myself, I am (newly!!!) debt free and I live in a great apartment.

As for my independence, last week Gingi pointed out that I wouldn't be happy being the kind of girl who is dependent on a guy and I wouldn't be happy with a guy who wanted that out of a girl. She said that while it's hard being a strong woman, it's worth in it in the end, when you find that guy who loves that about you. And there are those guys out there.

I've always been independent. My parents raised an independent thinker.

Sometimes I wonder if I could have been one of those girls who needs a man, and then I remember a story my neighbor used to tell me.

Before I could walk, I learned how to climb out of my crib, crawl down the stairs and open our door. I used to crawl up a quarter of an acre of land in my diaper to quietly play in a soft zone of mud that I liked while the sun rose.

I never had a chance at being one of those other girls.

At every crossroad in my life, my parents encouraged me to take on the challenges. They didn't help me, but they stood behind me in case I failed dreadfully and needed help. The funny thing about doing that, is you learn not to need to help.

I guess that makes me lucky. I don't have to learn how to survive if tough times come, I've survived before.

Maybe they should send a camera crew over here and they can watch me get up every morning and try to work out. They can watch me get myself to work, to earn my own money. They can watch me clean my apartment, do my laundry, fight for a taxi or wait for the bus and buy my own drinks. They can watch me struggle to travel with my luggage by myself. They can watch me argue with the lady at the bank when my ATM card doesn't work and see me reconcile my bank statements. They can see me walk into a party and work the room, introduce myself to strangers, make small talk and leave with new friends.

Ahh forget it, America probably wouldn't appreciate it. It makes too much sense. I don't eat bugs for a million dollars, I just work for a living.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com