9:17 p.m. | 2003-06-30


It took us over 2 hours to get out of Manhattan on Friday night. Now let me explain, because whenever I gripe about trying to cross town in Manhattan, my brother sighes and says, It's not like you live in LA, Partygirl.

It took us more than 2 hours to travel from 40th and 1st to the mouth of the Lincoln Tunnel, at 38th and 10th. As we crawled crosstown and blocked crosswalks, I had to hang out of the window and explain to angry pedestrians that we were blocking the crosswalks because we were running out of gas.

At one point, we were so low on gas, and 45 minutes into a 2 block crawl I got out of the car and started walking to the gas station.

After finally getting gas, a truck started taking up two lanes to prevent cars from passing, so we actually drove up onto the sidewalk - half of the car on the street and the other half on the sidewalk - in order to travel another half block.

It was absurd. But I'll tell you this much. It was better than taking the bus.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com