12:04 a.m. | 2003-11-10


I may as well face reality, I am always going to be a partygirl. I can take myself out of the game for a while, get myself caught up in the trappings of my overzealous mind but the only times worth capturing for me are the good times and I have a lot of them.

Friday night we went to see the Polyphonic Spree, and if you haven't seen them live, get in the car right now and drive to their next date. Best band I've seen in years, they were just magical.

Seeing the band (with Corn Mo! Yeah!) at the Warsaw was extra special, because they stayed around and milled with the crowd. I pulled the trumpet player over to meet a friend and chatted with the harpist. How great is it that they have a harpist? I met a cute mountain man-ish guy at the merch table of the show and he came over to our area in the bar and we chatted. I thought he might ask us where we were going afterward but he didn't and I was disappointed to see him go.

I got crazy after the show and went out and made leaf-angels on the sidewalk in Brooklyn while we waited for the car we called.

Then we went to some crazy spot where they serve these giant beers in styrofoam cups. I was hanging out with the girls, who had already met some boys, and noticed a man looking at me from across the bar. Being the weirdo that I am, I started making faces at this man. He made faces back. After a little of this, he motioned me over to his area. I shook my head no, he motioned again. We played this cat and mouse for a while as my friends chatted with me and had no idea what was going on, until I pushed my way through my crowd and walked over to the guy.

He gave me his chair. He spoke and I realized that he was Russian. Suddenly, I am perched like a queen amid a crowd of Russian men who then got into a spot of trouble because apparently before I came over, they had grabbed some woman's ass on the way to the bathroom like a bunch of mauradeers. I like a man who takes what he wants, but I wasn't in the mood to get caught up in what appeared to be a scuffle so I snuck right out of there and outside for a moment.

Later that night, my large styrofoam cup of beer and I found ourselves in an intense conversation about life with a woman in her 30's missing a couple of teeth. It was a hopeful conversation. She told me that I'm going to be okay because I am searching for the answers. Apparently, the people unlike me who are content and seem to be normal, are the F-ed up ones. I don't know if that's true but it certainly made me feel better because I have a lot of questions about life and I like to pose them to almost everyone I come into contact with. I have an instatiable curiosity about the diversity of the human experience. I just don't get it. What are other people doing that I'm not doing? What's worked for them and will it work for me?

I closed that bar and we went for gyros around 4:30am. I then made my way back into Manhattan and landed in the middle of a closed, after hours black jack game during which time I accused the game runners of card counting, got caught cheating (ducking cards into my pockets), mouthed off to everyone in the game, walked out, second thought that move and demanded a beer for the rode (which they gave to me!) and then walked out of the closed bar.

Saturday involved a lot of rest. I went to the gym and made it out around midnight to my local bar. There was a bit of a scuttle there late night that involved someone losing the keys to close the bar. I had to wake up the owner who is a friend of mine and was passed out in his apartment around the corner, to try to find the keys in his place to no avail.

Back at the bar, the guy who lost the keys continued to try to kiss me, which was completely depressing because he is married. I mean, why do men do that? And if it hadn't been me, would another girl have gone there? That bums me out big time.

As I was being cornered by this retard, I see the drunken owner enter the bar through the wrong door, realize his mistake and rather than go out the door and in the right one, proceed to walk on a ledge 6 feet above the basement, pull himself up and into his bar via a window.

The other owner, whom I had proceeded to tell to "stop counting cards and shut the F up" the night before, was now passed out on the bar as two girls stood on either side of his handsomeness in the hopes that he might wake up and want to hook up with one of both of them. That dude pulls some serious ass.

Prior to all of this, I had been thinking about taking home this other guy from the bar, but at this point, I had had enough, so I left all of them and went home alone.

And that pretty much sums up my weekend.

previous next



new - old - mail



a kelly design.

I like presents

Diaryland

Sign my Guestbook from Bravenet.comGet your Free Guestbook from Bravenet.com